State of Louisiana

Pharmacy Benefit Manager (PBM) Monitoring Advisory Council

Commissioner, La. Dept. of Insurance
President, La. State Board of Medical Examiners
President, La. Board of Pharmacy
Attorney General

Director, Public Protection Division, La. Dept. of Justice Secretary, La. Dept. of Health

President, La. Academy of Physician Assistants President, La. State Medical Society

President, La. Association of Nurse Practitioners President, La. Pharmacists Association

President, La. Independent Pharmacies Association

President, National Association of Chain Drug Stores

President, Pharmaceutical Research & Manufacturers of America

President, La. Academy of Medical Psychologists

President, La. Association of Health Plans

President, of a PBM licensed by the Board of Pharmacy and selected by the Louisiana affiliate of the Pharmaceutical Care Management Association

President, La. Association of Business & Industry Chief Executive Officer, La. Business Group on Health President, La. AFL-CIO

President, La. Association of Health Underwriters
The Governor

Chair, House Committee on Insurance Chair, Senate Committee on Insurance Chair, House Committee on Health & Welfare Chair, Senate Committee on Health & Welfare

Meeting Minutes

January 8, 2025

A regular meeting of the council was held on **Wednesday**, **January 8**, **2025** in the Poydras Hearing Room at the Louisiana Department of Insurance (LDI), located at 1702 North Third Street in Baton Rouge, Louisiana 70802. The meeting was conducted in a hybrid meeting format, in-person and by electronic means (Zoom).

1. Call to Order

Rep. Chris Turner called the meeting to order at approximately 10:34 a.m.

2. Quorum Call

Rep. Chris Turner asked Mr. Fontenot to call the roll of members to establish a quorum.

Members Present:

Mr. Frank Opelka (For the Commissioner, Louisiana Dept. of Insurance)

Mr. Marty McKay (President, Louisiana Board of Pharmacy)

Mr. D. Jeddie Smith, Jr.* (For the Louisiana Attorney General)

Mr. Michael Dupree (Director of the Public Protection Division, La. DOJ)

Mr. Laura Bailey* (For the President, Louisiana State Medical Society)

Mr. Scott Black* (President, Louisiana Pharmacists Association)

Mr. Don Caffery (For the President, La. Independent Pharmacies Assoc.)

Ms. Mary Staples* (For the President, National Association of Chain Drug Stores)

Mr. Jeff Drozda* (For the President, Louisiana Association of Health Plans)

Ms. Cheryl Tolbert (CEO, Louisiana Business Group on Health)

Mr. Josh Sonnier (For the President, Louisiana AFL-CIO)

Ms. Kristy Copeland* (For the President, La. Assoc. of Health Underwriters)

Rep. Gabe Firment* (Chairman, House Committee – Insurance)

Rep. Chris Turner (For the Chairman, House Committee - Health & Welfare

Mr. Fred H. Mills, Jr.* (For the Chairman, Senate Committee - Health & Welfare)

(*- participated by electronic means)

Members Absent:

The President of the Louisiana State Board of Medical Examiners

The Secretary of the Louisiana Dept. of Health

The President of the Louisiana Academy of Physician Assistants

The President of the Louisiana Association of Nurse Practitioners

The President of the Pharmaceutical Research & Manufacturers of America

The President of the Louisiana Academy of Medical Psychologists

The President of PBM / Prime Therapeutics / PCMA

The President of the Louisiana Association of Business & Industry

The Governor

The Chairman of the Senate Committee on Insurance

Mr. Fontenot certified 15 of 25 members were present, constituting a quorum for the conduct of official business.

Support Staff Present:

Mr. Joe Fontenot (Executive Director, Louisiana Board of Pharmacy)

Guests Present:

Ms. Crystal Carter – Louisiana Pharmacists Association

Mr. Errol Duplantis

Mr. Matthew Cross - Louisiana Independent Pharmacies Association

Mr. Randal Johnson - Louisiana Independent Pharmacies Association

Ms. Shelly Dupre – Louisiana Association of Retail Pharmacies

3. Consideration of Minutes from Previous Meeting

Rep. Chris Turner asked for a motion to approve the draft minutes of the previous meeting held on October 9, 2024. A motion was offered by Mr. Josh Sonnier, then adopted after a unanimous vote of the remaining members in the affirmative declaring the minutes approved.

4. Opportunity for Public Comment

Rep. Chris Turner solicited public comment. There was no public comment.

5. Review of Legislation

Rep. Chris Turner asked members if they had items they would like to discuss.

Mr. Don Caffery with the Louisiana Independent Pharmacies Association (LIPA) spoke in regard to SB 444 (Act 768) from the 2024 Regular Session. Mr. Caffery stated that as of January 8, 2025 a rule has not been promulgated and LIPA continues to receive numerous complaints from its member pharmacies in regard to receiving below cost reimbursement in violation of the law which was effective January 1, 2025. Mr. Caffery also stated, a meeting with the Department of Insurance was scheduled for the following day but he wanted to bring this matter to the attention of the council.

6. Review of Rulemaking Activity

Mr. Frank Opelka provided timelines for current rulemaking activity for the Louisiana Department of Insurance. There was no further discussion and no decisions were made.

7. Review of Industry Trends and Emerging Issues

Mr. McKay asked Mr. Opelka for an update regarding the matter of the Mississippi PBM audit. Mr. Opelka advised that the department is addressing the matter. There was no further discussion and no decisions were made.

8. Calendar Notes

Rep. Chris Turner advised that the tentative meeting dates for calendar year 2025 are April 9, July 9, and October 8 at 10:30 a.m.

9. Adjourn

Having completed the tasks itemized on the posted agenda, with no further business pending before the council and without objection, Rep. Chris Turner adjourned the meeting at approximately 10:46 a.m.

Minutes approved during subsequent meeting of the Council on April 9, 2025.