Published to promote voluntary compliance of pharmacy and drug law.

Renewal of Pharmacy Technician Certificates
(02-04-125)

The Louisiana Board of Pharmacy office staff will begin print-
ing pharmacy technician certificate renewal applications on April
15. Any address changes submitted to the office on or after April
14 will not be reflected on the renewa application. We will mail
applications for renewal of pharmacy technician certificates
on April 26.

If you do not receive your renewal application on or before May
15, it is your responsibility to pursue obtaining a renewal applica-
tion. One source is the Louisiana Pharmacy Law Book, found in
every pharmacy. A blank renewal formis provided on page 336.8;
the current version of the form is dated October 2000 in the lower
right corner of the page. We suggest you copy the form, return the
original to the Law Book for future use, and use the copy to apply
for your certificate renewal . Another sourcefor ablank copy of the
renewal form isthe Board’s Web site, www.labp.com.

All current pharmacy technician certificate renewalswill expire
June 30. If you need arenewal on or before July 1, we suggest you
mail the properly completed application and fee of $50 on or before
May 30. Pharmacy technicians may not practice with an expired
certificate. The renewal of an expired certificate will incur an addi-
tional $200 reinstatement fee, resulting in a total charge of $250.
Applications bearing a postal service postmark of July 3 or later
must be accompanied by the late fee, or it will be returned. The
renewal application for expired pharmacy technician certificates
may possibly be referred to the Board's Reinstatement Committee,
depending on the date received in the Board office.

As areminder, Act 689 of the 1990 Louisiana Legislature re-
quires all professional licensing boards to refuse to issue or renew
licenses or certificates to individuals found to be in default of any
outstanding loan repayment agreements. When the Board receives
certificate renewal applications, we are required to submit those
names to the Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance
(LOSFA) for clearance. Only after that agency certifiesan individual
to be in compliance can the Board then issue a certificate renewal.

In responseto several questionsreceived in the office, wewould
like to clarify that the new continuing education requirement for
pharmacy technicians does not apply to newly licensed technicians,
ie, those licensed on or after July 1, 2001. All other technicians
shall have earned at least 10 hours of American Council on Phar-
maceutical Education-approved continuing education in the 12-
month period from July 1, 2001 through June 30, 2002. Remember
to keep copies of all continuing education certificates at your pri-
mary practice sitefor at least two years. The office will conduct an
audit of arandom sample of technicians to verify compliance with
the regulation.
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Finaly, for those pharmacy technicians who practice in mul-
tiple sites, you should post the original copy of your certificate
renewal in your primary work site. You should provide a copy of
that renewal to the pharmacist-in-charge of any other site at which
you may work. We aso provide an identification card with the
renewal; it isdesigned to fit in awallet. You should carry that card
at all times as evidence that you are currently certified as a phar-
macy technician.

Pharmacists, Pharmacy Technicians, and

Pharmacy Interns (02-04-126)

If you are a pharmacist-in-charge, you must at al times ensure
that all personnel you allow to function in your prescription depart-
ment performing pharmacist functions are properly licensed, certi-
fied, or in possession of avalid work permit (pharmacist intern or
pharmacy technician trainee).

If you are a staff pharmacist or relief pharmacist, it isyour obli-
gation to ensure that the employees assisting you in the prescrip-
tion dispensing process arelegally authorized to perform their duties
during your shift. If an inspection or investigation occurswhile you
are on duty and unqualified persons are performing duties under
your supervision, then you will be responsible to the Board in the
investigative report filed by the inspector.

Taking Care of Your Patient —

Emergency Refills (02-04-127)

Louisianapharmacy regulationsallow apharmacist, using sound
professional judgment, to dispense an adequate amount of medica
tion for a 72-hour regimen whenever an emergency for medication
has been demonstrated and the appropriate medical practitioner is
not available. (LAC 46:L111.2903.B.3 - page 214 of Louisiana Phar-
macy Law Book)

Did You Know? (02-04-128)

A pharmacigt, intern, or technician who has knowledge that an-
other pharmacist, intern, or technician is impaired is required to
report the relevant confidential information to the Board. We sug-
gest that an ethical or moral imperative also exist. Would you ig-
nore someone having aheart attack? Addiction isalife-threatening
disease, but helpisavailable. If you know someonewho needs help,
please call the Board office for a confidential conversation.
Disciplinary Actions (02-04-129)

During its February 21, 2002 administrative hearing, the Board
took final action in the following matters. Although every effort is
made to ensure that the information is correct, you should call the
Board office at 225/925-6496 to verify the accuracy of the listing
before making any decision based on thisinformation.
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Stephen Raymond Bajon (Pharmacist License No. 9080), For-
mal Hearing: License suspended indefinitely and assessed
$4,000, to be paid prior to making any application for reinstate-
ment. Charges. (1) has had license disciplined by another state,
(2) failure to report disciplinary action from another licensing ju-
risdiction.

Janice Marie Heard (Technician Certificate No. 1002), Formal
Hearing: Certificate revoked. Charges: (1) has assisted in prac-
tice of pharmacy in violation of pharmacy laws or regulations,
(2) obtained renewal through fraudulent means.

Bonvillain Pharmacy (Pharmacy Permit No. 3497), Voluntary
Consent Agreement: Permit reprimanded, and then assessed ad-
ministrative and investigative costs. Charges. (1) has evaded
local, state, or federal laws or regulations pertaining to the prac-
tice of pharmacy, (2) failed to timely submit the quarterly report
or pay the appropriate prescription fee to the Louisiana Medical
Assistance Trust Fund.

Clinic Pharmacy [aka Bonvillain Phar macy] (Phar macy Per-
mit No. 3234), Voluntary Consent Agreement: Permit repri-
manded, and then assessed administrative and investigative costs.
Charges. (1) has evaded local, state, or federal laws or regula-
tions pertaining to the practice of pharmacy, (2) failed to timely
submit the quarterly report or pay the appropriate prescription
feeto the Louisiana Medical Assistance Trust Fund.

Glenda Ann Stevenson (Technician Certificate No. 3939), Vol-
untary Consent Agreement: Certificate suspended for one year;
suspension stayed, then placed on probation for one year, begin-
ning December 15, 2001. Certificate also assessed administra-
tiveand investigative costs. Char ges: (1) hasassisted in practice
of pharmacy in violation of pharmacy laws or regulations, (2)
failure to apply for renewal of certificate.

AliciaMarie Baty (Technician Certificate No. 3946), Voluntary
Consent Agreement: Certificate suspended indefinitely and as-
sessed $1,000 plus administrative and investigative costs.
Charges:. (1) unlawful possession of Schedulelll controlled sub-
stance, (2) unlawful possession of Schedule IV controlled sub-
stance, and (3) unlawful possession of prescription drug.

William Frank Lucas (Pharmacist License No. 8340), Volun-
tary Consent Agreement: License suspended for five years; sus-
pension stayed, then placed on probation for fiveyears, beginning
December 15, 2001. License also assessed $1,000 plus adminis-
trative and investigative costs. Charges: (1) has practiced phar-
macy in violation of pharmacy laws or regulations, (2) failureto
ascertain authenticity of dispensed prescriptions, and (3) dispens-
ing of fraudulent prescriptions.

Evans Drug Mart No. 1 (Pharmacy Permit No. 2937), Volun-
tary Consent Agreement: Permit assessed $1,000 plus adminis-
trativeand investigative costs. Char ges: (1) has permitted anyone
in hisemploy to practice pharmacy in violation of pharmacy laws
or regulations, (2) registrant shall be accountable for audits of
controlled substances, and (3) failure to maintain complete and
accurate inventory records of controlled substances.

EvansDrugMart No. 2 (Pharmacy Permit No. 4118), Voluntary
Consent Agreement: Permit assessed $1,000 plus administrative
and investigative costs. Charges. (1) has permitted anyone in
his employ to practice pharmacy in violation of pharmacy laws
or regulations, (2) registrant shall be accountable for audits of
controlled substances, and (3) failure to maintain complete and
accurate inventory records of controlled substances.

In other actions, the Board accepted the voluntary surrender of
four licenses from impaired pharmacists. The Board denied a peti-
tion for reinstatement from one pharmacist, then reinstated the li-
censes of three pharmacists without restriction and another four
pharmacists on probation. A petition for modification of proba
tionary terms was granted to one pharmacist. Finally, the Board
issued aformal warning to one pharmacist and formal reprimands
to three pharmacists and one pharmacy permit.

Calendar Notes (02-04-130)

The next meeting of the Board will beheld May 8-9inthe Board
office in Baton Rouge. The office will be closed on May 27 in
observance of Memoria Day aswell as on July 4 in observance of
Independence Day.

Special Note (02-04-131)

The Louisiana Board of Pharmacy News is considered an offi-

cial method of notification to pharmacists and pharmacy techni-
cians licensed by the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy. These
Newsletters will be used in administrative hearings as proof of
notification. Please read them carefully and keep them in the back
of the Pharmacy Law Book for future reference.
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Malcolm J. Broussard, RPh - State News Editor

Carmen A. Catizone, MS, RPh - National News Editor
& Executive Editor

Courtney M. Karzen - Editorial Manager
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