1	Title 46
2	PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL STANDARDS
3	Part LIII: Pharmacists
4	Chapter 9. Pharmacy Technicians
5	§901. Definitions
6	A. As used in this Chapter, the following terms shall have the meaning ascribed to them in this Section.
7	ACPE—Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education.
8	CPE-continuing pharmaceutical education, as part of a postgraduate educational program to enhance
9	professional competence.
10	CPE Monitor-a collaborative service from the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) and the
11	Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) that provides an electronic system for pharmacists and
12	pharmacy technicians to record and track their completed CPE activities.
13	CPE unit—a standard of measurement adopted by the ACPE for the purpose of accreditation of CPE programs.
14	One CPE unit is equivalent to 10 credit hours.
15	Pharmacy Technician-an individual, certified by the board, who assists in the practice of pharmacy under the
16	direct and immediate supervision of a Louisiana-licensed pharmacist.
17	Pharmacy Technician Candidate-an individual, registered by the board, training to become a pharmacy
18	technician, who assists in the practice of pharmacy under the direct and immediate supervision of a Louisiana-licensed
19	pharmacist.
20	Training Program— a pharmacy technician training program that is currently nationally accredited and has been
21	approved by the board.
22	Pharmacy Technician Educator - a pharmacy technician training program that is currently nationally-accredited
23	and board-approved or a Louisiana licensed pharmacist, not on probation with the Board, providing a technician
24	training, in a pharmacy that is not on probation with the Board.
25	AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:1212.
26	HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 30:2485 (November
27	2004), effective January 1, 2005, amended LR 39:1777 (July 2013), amended by Department of Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR
28 29	43:2496 (December 2017), effective January 1, 2018, amended LR
30	§903. Pharmacy Technician Candidates
31	A. Registration
32	1. All pharmacy technician candidates shall obtain a registration from the board prior to performing any
33	professional functions in a pharmacy; failure to do so may result in disciplinary action by the board.
34	<ol> <li>Qualifications</li> </ol>
35	a. The applicant shall be at least 18 16 years of age, as evidenced by a valid and legible copy of a birth
36	certificate or other appropriate credential.
37	b. Applicants under 18 years of age shall provide evidence of an Employment Certificate as required by the
38	Louisiana Department of Labor.
20	Louisiana Department of Labor.

39	b. c. The applicant shall be of good moral character and non-impaired.
40	e. d. The applicant shall satisfy one of the following eligibility criteria:
41	i. proof verification of enrollment in a nationally-accredited and board-approved pharmacy technician
42	training program; or
43	ii. Proof of successful completion of a board approved technician certification examination, and further,
44	proof of successful completion of a high school approved by a state department of education or an equivalent degree
45	of education, as evidenced by a valid and legible copy of a diploma, transcript, or other appropriate credential.
46	ii. verification from a Louisiana licensed pharmacist, not on probation with the Board, indicating the intent
47	to provide technician training, in a pharmacy that is not on probation with the Board.
48	d. Exceptions
49	i. A pharmacist or pharmacist pharmacy intern whose board credential has been denied, suspended,
50	revoked, or restricted for disciplinary reasons by any board of pharmacy shall not be a pharmacy technician candidate
51	or pharmacy technician.
52	ii. A pharmacist or pharmacist intern whose board credential is lapsed shall not be a pharmacy technician
53	candidate or pharmacy technician until such lapsed credential is recalled through non-disciplinary board action.
54	3. Issuance and Maintenance
55	a. Upon receipt of a properly completed application, appropriate fee, and any other documentation required
56	by the board, the board may issue a Pharmacy Technician Candidate Registration to the applicant.
57	b. The board reserves the right to refuse to issue, recall, or discipline a registration for cause.
58	c. The registration shall expire 24 months after the date of issuance, and it shall not be renewable.
59	d. Termination of Enrollment Training; Status of Registration
60	i. In the event the candidate is no longer enrolled in a nationally accredited and board approved pharmacy
61	technician training program training with the pharmacy technician educator for any reason other than graduation
62	completion of training, the candidate no longer meets the eligibility criteria to possess the registration, and the
63	candidate shall relinquish the registration to the board, giving notice of their last day of enrollment in the program
64	training.
65	ii. In the event a candidate fails to relinquish their registration when required to do so, or when notified by
66	the board office of that requirement, the board staff shall inactivate the registration and refer the matter to the board
67	for its consideration of disciplinary action against the candidate.
68	iii. In the event the candidate should re enroll in the original program or a different program, resume training
69	with a pharmacy technician educator, and gives proof verification of that enrollment training is provided to the board,
70	the board may re-issue the registration with the original expiration date preserved.
71	iv. In its discretion, the board may grant an exception to the original expiration date or reinstate the
72	pharmacy technician candidate registration upon request by the candidate demonstrating unusual circumstances.
73	e. A pharmacy technician candidate shall notify the board, in writing, no later than 10 days following a change
74	of mailing address. The written notice shall include the candidate's name, registration number, and old and new
75	addresses.

76	f. A pharmacy technician candidate shall notify the board, in writing, no later than 10 days following a change
77	in location(s) of employment. The written notice shall include the candidate's name, registration number, and name,
78	address, and permit numbers for old and new employers.
79	B. Training Programs Pharmacy Technician Educators
80	1. Pharmacy technician educators shall provide academic preparation including technical skills and knowledge,
81	sufficient to prepare the candidate to adequately perform the duties a pharmacy technician. Academic preparation must
82	meet the minimum requirements of a board-approved examination provider.
83	1.2. All nationally-accredited training programs approved by the board shall maintain their national
84	accreditation.
85	2. 3. The training program Pharmacy technician educators shall notify the board when a pharmacy technician
86	candidate is no longer enrolled in the program or actively progressing in training with the Louisiana licensed
87	pharmacist. Evidence of a program's failure to comply with this rule shall constitute sufficient basis for the withdrawal
88	of the board's approval for the program.
89	3. 4. The training program Pharmacy technician educators shall provide an appropriate credential to
90	verification that the pharmacy technician candidate who has successfully completed the program training, provided,
91	however, that such credential shall not be formatted in such a manner to lead anyone to believe that credential
92	resembles a document providing legal authority to practice as a pharmacy technician.
93	C. Practical Experience
94	1. The candidate shall possess a registration prior to performing any permitted professional function or earning
95	any practical experience in a pharmacy.
96	2. The candidate shall wear appropriate attire and be properly identified as to name and candidate status while
97	on duty in the prescription department.
98	3. A candidate shall not work in a permitted site that is on probation with the board, or with a pharmacist who
99	is on probation with the board.
100	4. The candidate's registration shall evidence his authority to earn practical experience in a pharmacy, under
101	the supervision of a pharmacist, in satisfaction of the requirements for pharmacy technician certification:
102	a. in the event the registration was issued to an applicant enrolled in Candidates issued a registration based
103	on enrollment in a nationally-accredited and board-approved training program, the candidate shall earn the amount of
104	experience prescribed by the curriculum of that program, which may include hours earned in a consultant pharmacy
105	practice which does not hold a pharmacy permit <u>.; or</u>
106	b. in the event the registration was issued to an applicant by any other method, the candidate Candidates
107	issued a registration based on verification from a Louisiana licensed pharmacist indicating the intent to provide
108	technician training, shall earn at least 600 hours of practical experience in a pharmacy in Louisiana, provided however,
109	that a candidate may receive board credit for a maximum of 50 hours per week.
110	c. Candidates under 18 years of age must earn hours within the terms outlined by the Employment Certificate
111	as required by the Louisiana Department of Labor.
112	d. Candidates may receive board credit for a maximum of 50 hours per week.

113 5. Hours of practical experience earned by a candidate shall expire two years after the expiration date of the 114 registration. 115 D. Examination 116 1. A board-approved technician examination shall consist of integrated pharmacy subject matter and any other 117 disciplines the board may deem appropriate in order to permit the candidate to demonstrate his competency. The 118 candidate shall achieve a passing score, as determined by the board. 119 2. In the event the candidate fails the examination, the candidate may repeat the examination in compliance 120 with the test administrator's policy. 121 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:1212. 122 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 30:2485 (November 123 2004), effective January 1, 2005, amended LR 39:1777 (July 2013), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Pharmacy, 124 LR 43:2496 (December 2017), effective January 1, 2018, repromulgated LR 44:49 (January 2018), amended LR 46:574 (April 125 2020), amended LR 46:576 (April 2020), amended LR 126 127 **§905**. **Pharmacy Technician Certificate** 128 A. Qualifications 129 1. An applicant for a pharmacy technician certificate shall be at least 18 years of age, as evidenced by a valid 130 and legible copy of a birth certificate or other appropriate credential. 131 2. An applicant shall be of good moral character and non-impaired. 132 3. An applicant shall demonstrate one of the following educational competencies. 133 a. In the event the applicant obtained their technician candidate registration on the basis of their enrollment 134 in a nationally-accredited and board-approved pharmacy technician training program, the applicant shall demonstrate 135 successful completion of that training program, or in the alternative, another nationally-accredited and board-approved 136 pharmacy technician training program. 137 b. In the event the applicant obtained their technician candidate registration by any other method based on verification from a Louisiana licensed pharmacist indicating the intent to provide technician training, the applicant 138 139 shall demonstrate the acquisition of at least 600 hours of practical experience under the supervision of a the training 140 pharmacist, using a form supplied by the board. 141 c. In the event the applicant has been licensed, registered, or otherwise credentialed by another state board of 142 pharmacy and has been practicing for at least one year as a pharmacy technician in that state, the applicant shall 143 demonstrate successful completion of a board-approved pharmacy technician certification examination. 144 4. An applicant shall demonstrate successful completion of a board-approved technician examination, as 145 evidenced by a valid and legible copy of the appropriate credential. 146 B. Issuance and Maintenance 147 Upon receipt of a properly completed application, copies of valid and legible credentials, the appropriate fee, 1. 148 and any other documentation required by the board, and following verification that all requirements have been 149 satisfied, the board may issue a pharmacy technician certificate to the applicant for the current renewal period. 150 2. The board reserves the right to refuse to issue, recall, or discipline a certificate for cause.

151 3. The annual renewal shall expire and become null and void on June 30 of each year. The board shall make available, no later than May 1 of each year, and application for renewal to all 152 a. 153 pharmacy technicians to the address of record. 154 The completed application, along with the appropriate fee, shall be submitted to the board by June 30 of b. 155 each year. 156 c. A pharmacy technician shall not assist in the practice of pharmacy in Louisiana with an expired renewal. 157 d. An application for an expired pharmacy technician renewal, along with the appropriate fee, shall be 158 submitted to the board's reinstatement committee for consideration. 159 4. A pharmacy technician shall notify the board, in writing, no later than 10 days following a change of mailing 160 address. The written notice shall include the technician's name, certificate number, and old and new addresses. 161 5. A pharmacy technician shall notify the board, in writing, no later than 10 days following a change in location(s) of employment. The written notice shall include the technician's name, certificate number, and name, 162 163 address, and permit numbers for old and new employers. 164 6. Upon written request of any certified pharmacy technician in active military service of the United States or any of its allies, the board may waive the requirement for the annual renewal of the certificate, including fees. 165 166 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:1212. 167 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 30:2486 (November 168 2004), effective January 1, 2005, amended LR 38:1235 (May 2012), LR 39:1777 (July 2013), amended by the Department of 169 Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 43:2497 (December 2017), effective January 1, 2018, amended LR 46:576 (April 2020), amended 170 LR 171