1
1

6

7

9

10

11

12

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

23

24

Title 46

2 3 PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL STANDARDS

4 Part LIII: Pharmacists

5 Chapter 9. Pharmacy Technicians

§901. Definitions

- A. As used in this Chapter, the following terms shall have the meaning ascribed to them in this Section.
- 8 ACPE—Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education.
 - CPE—continuing pharmaceutical education, as part of a postgraduate educational program to enhance professional competence.
 - CPE Monitor—a collaborative service from the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) and the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) that provides an electronic system for pharmacists and pharmacy technicians to record and track their completed CPE activities.
 - CPE unit—a standard of measurement adopted by the ACPE for the purpose of accreditation of CPE programs. One CPE unit is equivalent to 10 credit hours.
 - Pharmacy Technician—an individual, certified by the board, who assists in the practice of pharmacy under the direct and immediate supervision of a Louisiana-licensed pharmacist.
 - Pharmacy Technician Candidate—an individual, registered by the board, training to become a pharmacy technician, who assists in the practice of pharmacy under the direct and immediate supervision of a Louisianalicensed pharmacist.
 - Pharmacy Technician Educator a pharmacy technician training program that is currently nationally-accredited and board-approved, a program by the Louisiana Department of Education offering Pharmacy Technician as a career path, or a Louisiana licensed pharmacist, not on probation with the Board, providing technician training in a pharmacy that is not on probation with the Board.
- 25 AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:1212.
- 26 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 30:2485 (November
- 2004), effective January 1, 2005, amended LR 39:1777 (July 2013), amended by Department of Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 27
- 28 43:2496 (December 2017), effective January 1, 2018.

29 30

31

34

35

36

37

38

39

§903. Pharmacy Technician Candidates

- A. Registration
- 32 1. All pharmacy technician candidates shall obtain a registration from the board prior to performing any 33 professional functions in a pharmacy; failure to do so may result in disciplinary action by the board.
 - 2. Qualifications
 - a. The applicant shall be of good moral character and non-impaired.
 - b. One of the three following eligibility criteria shall be satisfied by the applicant:
 - i. Verification of enrollment in a nationally-accredited and board-approved pharmacy technician training program and at least 18 years of age, as evidenced by a valid and legible copy of a birth certificate or other appropriate credential.

- 40 ii. Verification of enrollment in a Louisiana Department of Education program with a pharmacy
 41 technician career path and at least 16 years of age, as evidenced by a valid and legible copy of a birth certificate or
 42 other appropriate credential. Applicants under 18 years of age shall provide evidence of an Employment Certificate
 43 as required by the Louisiana Department of Labor.
 - iii. Verification from a Louisiana licensed pharmacist, who is not on probation with the Board, indicating their intention to provide technician training in a pharmacy that is not on probation with the Board. The applicant shall be at least 18 years of age, as evidenced by a valid and legible copy of a birth certificate or other appropriate credential.

c. Exceptions

- i. A pharmacist or pharmacy intern whose board credential has been denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted for disciplinary reasons by any board of pharmacy shall not be a pharmacy technician candidate or pharmacy technician.
- ii. A Louisiana pharmacist or pharmacy intern whose board credential is active shall not be a pharmacy technician candidate or pharmacy technician until such credential is relinquished.

3. Issuance and Maintenance

- a. Upon receipt of a properly completed application, appropriate fee, and any other documentation required by the board, the board may issue a Pharmacy Technician Candidate Registration to the applicant.
 - b. The board reserves the right to refuse to issue, recall, or discipline a registration for cause.
 - c. The registration shall expire 24 months after the date of issuance, and it shall not be renewable.
 - d. Termination of Training
- i. In the event the candidate is no longer training with the Pharmacy Technician Educator, for any reason other than completion of the training, the candidate no longer meets the eligibility criteria to possess the registration, and the candidate shall relinquish the registration to the board within 10 days, giving notice of their last day of training.
- ii. In the event a candidate fails to relinquish their registration when required to do so, the board staff shall inactivate the registration.
- iii. In the event the candidate should resume training with a pharmacy technician educator, and verification of that training is provided to the board, the board may re-issue the registration with the original expiration date preserved.
- iv. In its discretion, the board may grant an exception to the original expiration date or reinstate the registration upon request by the candidate demonstrating unusual circumstances.
- e. A pharmacy technician candidate shall notify the board, in writing, no later than 10 days following a change of mailing address. The written notice shall include the candidate's name, registration number, and old and new addresses.
- f. A pharmacy technician candidate shall notify the board, in writing, no later than 10 days following a change in location(s) of employment. The written notice shall include the candidate's name, registration number, and pharmacy name, address, and permit numbers for old and new employers.
- B. Pharmacy Technician Educators

- 1. Pharmacy technician educators shall provide academic preparation including technical skills and knowledge, sufficient to prepare the candidate to adequately perform the duties of a pharmacy technician. Academic preparation shall meet the minimum requirements of a board-approved pharmacy technician certification examination provider.
 - 2. All nationally-accredited training programs approved by the board shall maintain their national accreditation.
 - 3. Pharmacy technician educators shall notify the board within 10 days when a pharmacy technician candidate is no longer enrolled in the program or actively progressing in training with the Louisiana licensed pharmacist.
 - 4. Pharmacy technician educators shall provide verification that the pharmacy technician candidate has successfully completed the training.

C. Practical Experience

82

83

84

85

86 87

88

89

90

91

92

93

94

95

96

97

98

99

100

101

102103

104

105

106

107

108

109

- 1. The candidate shall possess a registration prior to performing any permitted professional function or earning any practical experience in a pharmacy.
- 2. The candidate shall wear appropriate attire and be properly identified as to name and candidate status while on duty in the prescription department.
- 3. A candidate shall not work in a permitted site that is on probation with the board, or with a pharmacist who is on probation with the board.
- 4. The candidate's registration shall evidence his authority to earn practical experience in a pharmacy, under the supervision of a pharmacist, in satisfaction of the requirements for pharmacy technician certification.
- a. In the event the registration was issued to an applicant enrolled in a nationally-accredited and board-approved training program, the candidate shall earn the amount of experience prescribed by the curriculum of that program.
- b. In the event the registration was issued to an applicant by any other method, the candidate shall earn at least 600 hours of practical experience in a pharmacy in Louisiana. A candidate may receive board credit for a maximum of 50 hours per week, unless further limited by an Employment Certificate as required by the Louisiana Department of Labor.
- 5. Hours of practical experience earned by a candidate shall expire two years after the expiration date of the registration.

D. Examination

- 1. A board-approved pharmacy technician certification examination shall consist of integrated pharmacy subject matter and any other disciplines the board may deem appropriate in order to permit the candidate to demonstrate his competency. The candidate shall achieve a passing score, as determined by the board.
- 2. In the event the candidate fails the examination, the candidate may repeat the examination in compliance with the test administrator's policy.
- AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:1212.
- 113 HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 30:2485 (November
- 2004), effective January 1, 2005, amended LR 39:1777 (July 2013), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Pharmacy,
- LR 43:2496 (December 2017), effective January 1, 2018, repromulgated LR 44:49 (January 2018), amended LR 46:574 (April
- 116 2020), amended LR 46:576 (April 2020).

§905. Pharmacy Technician Certificate

- A. Qualifications
- 1. An applicant for a pharmacy technician certificate shall be at least 18 years of age, as evidenced by a valid and legible copy of a birth certificate or other appropriate credential.
 - 2. An applicant shall be of good moral character and non-impaired.
 - 3. An applicant shall demonstrate one of the following educational competencies.
- a. In the event the applicant obtained their technician candidate registration on the basis of their enrollment in a nationally-accredited and board-approved pharmacy technician training program, the applicant shall demonstrate successful completion of that training program, or in the alternative, another nationally-accredited and board-approved pharmacy technician training program.
- b. In the event the applicant obtained their technician candidate registration by any other method, the applicant shall demonstrate the acquisition of at least 600 hours of practical experience under the supervision of a pharmacist, using a form supplied by the board.
- c. In the event the applicant has been licensed, registered, or otherwise credentialed by another state board of pharmacy and has been practicing for at least one year as a pharmacy technician in that state, the applicant shall demonstrate successful completion of a board-approved pharmacy technician certification examination.
- 4. An applicant shall demonstrate successful completion of a board-approved technician examination, as evidenced by a valid and legible copy of the appropriate credential.
 - B. Issuance and Maintenance
- 1. Upon receipt of a properly completed application, copies of valid and legible credentials, the appropriate fee, and any other documentation required by the board, and following verification that all requirements have been satisfied, the board may issue a pharmacy technician certificate to the applicant for the current renewal period.
 - 2. The board reserves the right to refuse to issue, recall, or discipline a certificate for cause.
 - 3. The annual renewal shall expire and become null and void on June 30 of each year.
- a. The board shall make available, no later than May 1 of each year, an application for renewal to all pharmacy technicians to the address of record.
- b. The completed application, along with the appropriate fee, shall be submitted to the board by June 30 of each year.
 - c. A pharmacy technician shall not assist in the practice of pharmacy in Louisiana with an expired renewal.
- d. An application for an expired pharmacy technician renewal, along with the appropriate fee, shall be submitted to the board's reinstatement committee for consideration.
- 4. A pharmacy technician shall notify the board, in writing, no later than 10 days following a change of mailing address. The written notice shall include the technician's name, certificate number, and old and new addresses.
- 5. A pharmacy technician shall notify the board, in writing, no later than 10 days following a change in location(s) of employment. The written notice shall include the technician's name, certificate number, and pharmacy name, address, and permit numbers for old and new employers.
- 6. Upon written request of any certified pharmacy technician in active military service of the United States or any of its allies, the board may waive the requirement for the annual renewal of the certificate, including fees.

156	Regulatory Project 2024-05 ~ Pharmacy Technicians AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:1212.	Draft #3 (Clean Version)
157	HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 30:2486 (November	
158	2004), effective January 1, 2005, amended LR 38:1235 (May 2012), LR 39:1777 (July 2013), ame	nded by the Department of
159	Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 43:2497 (December 2017), effective January 1, 2018, amended LF	R 46:576 (April 2020).