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RULE 

Department of Health 

Board of Pharmacy 

Pharmacy Technicians (LAC 46:LIII.901, 903, 905) 

In accordance with the provisions of the Administrative 

Procedure Act (R.S. 49:950 et seq.) and the Pharmacy 

Practice Act (R.S. 37:1161 et seq.), the Board of Pharmacy 

amended §§901, 903, and 905 of its rules relative to 

pharmacy technicians. The Rule changes in §901 removes 

the definition of Training Program and instead defines 

Pharmacy Technician Educator. The Rule changes in §903 

expand the eligibility criteria for obtaining a pharmacy 

technician candidate registration, modifies the language 

under exceptions to provide clarity, describe actions to be 

taken in the event the pharmacy technician candidate is no 

longer training, and describe requirements of the training to 

be provided by the pharmacy technician educator. The Rule 

changes in §905 correct a typographical error and clarify that 

the notification of a change of employment must include the 

pharmacy name. This Rule is hereby adopted on the day or 

promulgation. 

Title 46 

PROFESSIONAL AND OCCUPATIONAL 

STANDARDS 

Part LIII.  Pharmacists 

Chapter 9. Pharmacy Technicians 

§901. Definitions 

A. As used in this Chapter, the following terms shall

have the meaning ascribed to them in this Section. 

* * *

Pharmacy Technician Educator—a pharmacy technician 

training program that is currently nationally-accredited and 

board-approved, a program by the Louisiana Department of 

Education offering Pharmacy Technician as a career path, or 

a Louisiana licensed pharmacist, not on probation with the 

board, providing technician training in a pharmacy that is 

not on probation with the board. 
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1212. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health 

and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 30:2485 (November 2004), 

effective January 1, 2005, amended LR 39:1777 (July 2013), 

amended by Department of Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 

43:2496 (December 2017), effective January 1, 2018, amended LR 

50:1646 (November 2024). 

§903. Pharmacy Technician Candidates 

A. Registration

1. ...

2. Qualifications

a. The applicant shall be of good moral character

and non-impaired. 

b. One of the three following eligibility criteria

shall be satisfied by the applicant: 

i. Verification of enrollment in a nationally-

accredited and board-approved pharmacy technician training 

program and at least 18 years of age, as evidenced by a valid 

and legible copy of a birth certificate or other appropriate 

credential. 

ii. Verification of enrollment in a Louisiana

Department of Education program with a pharmacy 

technician career path and at least 16 years of age, as 

evidenced by a valid and legible copy of a birth certificate or 

other appropriate credential. Applicants under 18 years of 

age shall provide evidence of an Employment Certificate as 

required by the Louisiana Department of Labor. 

iii. Verification from a Louisiana licensed

pharmacist, who is not on probation with the board, 

indicating their intention to provide technician training in a 

pharmacy that is not on probation with the board. The 

applicant shall be at least 18 years of age, as evidenced by a 

valid and legible copy of a birth certificate or other 

appropriate credential. 

c. Exceptions

i. A pharmacist or pharmacy intern whose board

credential has been denied, suspended, revoked, or restricted 

for disciplinary reasons by any board of pharmacy shall not 

be a pharmacy technician candidate or pharmacy technician. 

ii. A Louisiana pharmacist or pharmacy intern

whose board credential is active shall not be a pharmacy 

technician candidate or pharmacy technician until such 

credential is relinquished. 

3. Issuance and Maintenance

a. - c. … 

d. Termination of Training

i. In the event the candidate is no longer training

with the Pharmacy Technician Educator, for any reason other 

than completion of the training, the candidate no longer 

meets the eligibility criteria to possess the registration, and 

the candidate shall relinquish the registration to the board 

within 10 days, giving notice of their last day of training. 

ii. In the event a candidate fails to relinquish their

registration when required to do so, the board staff shall 

inactivate the registration. 

iii. In the event the candidate should resume

training with a pharmacy technician educator, and 

verification of that training is provided to the board, the 



Louisiana Register   Vol. 50, No. 11  November 20, 2024 1647 

board may re-issue the registration with the original 

expiration date preserved. 

iv. In its discretion, the board may grant an

exception to the original expiration date or reinstate the 

registration upon request by the candidate demonstrating 

unusual circumstances. 

e. …

f. A pharmacy technician candidate shall notify the

board, in writing, no later than 10 days following a change in 

location(s) of employment. The written notice shall include 

the candidate’s name, registration number, and pharmacy 

name, address, and permit numbers for old and new 

employers. 

B. Pharmacy Technician Educators

1. Pharmacy technician educators shall provide

academic preparation including technical skills and 

knowledge, sufficient to prepare the candidate to adequately 

perform the duties of a pharmacy technician. Academic 

preparation shall meet the minimum requirements of a 

board-approved pharmacy technician certification 

examination provider. 

2. All nationally-accredited training programs 

approved by the board shall maintain their national 

accreditation. 

3. Pharmacy technician educators shall notify the

board within 10 days when a pharmacy technician candidate 

is no longer enrolled in the program or actively progressing 

in training with the Louisiana licensed pharmacist. 

4. Pharmacy technician educators shall provide

verification that the pharmacy technician candidate has 

successfully completed the training. 

C. Practical Experience

1. - 3. …

4. The candidate’s registration shall evidence his

authority to earn practical experience in a pharmacy, under 

the supervision of a pharmacist, in satisfaction of the 

requirements for pharmacy technician certification. 

a. In the event the registration was issued to an

applicant enrolled in a nationally-accredited and board-

approved training program, the candidate shall earn the 

amount of experience prescribed by the curriculum of that 

program. 

b. In the event the registration was issued to an

applicant by any other method, the candidate shall earn at 

least 600 hours of practical experience in a pharmacy in 

Louisiana. A candidate may receive board credit for a 

maximum of 50 hours per week, unless further limited by an 

Employment Certificate as required by the Louisiana 

Department of Labor. 

5. …

D. Examination

1. A board-approved pharmacy technician certification

examination shall consist of integrated pharmacy subject 

matter and any other disciplines the board may deem 

appropriate in order to permit the candidate to demonstrate 

his competency. The candidate shall achieve a passing score, 

as determined by the board. 

2. …
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1212. 

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of 

Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 30:2485 (November 

2004), effective January 1, 2005, amended LR 39:1777 (July 2013), 

amended by the Department of Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 

43:2496 (December 2017), effective January 1, 2018, 

repromulgated LR 44:49 (January 2018), amended LR 46:574 

(April 2020), amended LR 46:576 (April 2020), amended LR 

50:1646 (November 2024). 

§905. Pharmacy Technician Certificate  

A. - B.2. …

3. The annual renewal shall expire and become null

and void on June 30 of each year. 

a. The board shall make available, no later than

May 1 of each year, an application for renewal to all 

pharmacy technicians to the address of record.  

3.b. - 4. … 

5. A pharmacy technician shall notify the board, in

writing, no later than 10 days following a change in 

location(s) of employment. The written notice shall include 

the technician's name, certificate number, and pharmacy 

name, address, and permit numbers for old and new 

employers.  

6. …
AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 

37:1212.  

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health 

and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 30:2486 (November 2004), 

effective January 1, 2005, amended LR 38:1235 (May 2012), LR 

39:1777 (July 2013), amended by the Department of Health, Board 

of Pharmacy, LR 43:2497 (December 2017), effective January 1, 

2018, amended LR 46:576 (April 2020), amended LR 50:1647 

(November 2024). 

M. Joseph Fontenot, Jr.

Executive Director
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