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BULLETIN No. 21-01

To: All pharmacies, pharmacists, interns, technicians, and technician candidates
From: Malcolm J Broussard, Executive Director

Date: December 1, 2021

Re: New Rules Effective November 2021

The Board completed the rulemaking process for two regulatory projects with publication of the
rule changes in the November 20, 2021 edition of the Louisiana Register, all with immediate
effective dates.

Regulatory Project 2020-10 ~ CDS License for Hemp Facility amended the Board’s rules for
controlled dangerous substance (CDS) licenses by adding a hemp facility as a type of
laboratory eligible to apply for a CDS license. Hemp facilities need to test their hemp crop
materials to ensure they contain less than the maximum amount of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC)
legally permissible. If the THC level exceeds the maximum amount permissible, it is no longer
considered hemp and instead is deemed marijuana, a controlled substance listed in Schedule |
of both federal and state lists of controlled substances; the hemp facility must then follow
prescribed procedures for the destruction of such materials.

Regulatory Project 2021-1 ~ Pharmacists, Pharmacies and Prescriptions amended several
chapters of the Board’s rules. Some of the rule changes are summarized here:

e The changes in Section 521 — Administration of Medications removed the previous
requirement for a separate Authority to Administer document and clarified the existing
eligibility criteria for the medication administration registration.

¢ The changes in Section 1103 — Prescription Department Requirements removed the
previous requirements for 300 square feet of floor space, 24 square feet of counter
space, and 30 inches of aisle space, in favor of resources “commensurate with the
nature and scope of the pharmacy practice.” In addition, those pharmacies offering
veterinary pharmacy services shall maintain appropriate reference materials for that
practice.

e The changes in Section 1105 — Pharmacist-in-Charge provide additional time for
pharmacies and pharmacists to report changes of the PIC to the Board office. While a
PIC shall continue to the give the Board and permit owner at least 10 days written notice
prior to vacating that position, and the pharmacy shall continue to appoint a PIC no later
than 10 days after the departure of the prior PIC, the new PIC and the pharmacy will
have up to 30 days to report those changes to the Board office.

e The change to Section 1107 — Pharmacy Operation includes a new provision that no
person credentialed by the Board shall be required to engage in the practice of
pharmacy for longer than six hours without a rest break.

NOTICE: In compliance with Act 256 of the 2019 Louisiana Legislature, the Board gives public notice that any information submitted to the Board may become public
record unless specifically exempted by the Public Records Law, R.S. 44:1 et seq.
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e The changes in Section 1123 — Records of Prescription Drug Orders and Chart Orders
permit the disposal of hard copy prescription records after they have been imaged and
stored in the electronic recordkeeping system, subject to the limitations identified in that
rule.

o The changes in Section 2425 — Telepharmacy Dispensing Site removed outdated
minimum specifications, similar to those made in Section 1103 described above,
provides that pharmacy technician candidates and pharmacy interns may not practice in
telepharmacy dispensing site, and clarify the pharmacist’s responsibilities for patient
counseling and drug utilization review in such practice sites.

e The changes in Section 2513 — Receipt and Verification of Prescription Drug Orders and
Chart Orders clarifies that the receiving pharmacist is responsible for verification of the
authenticity of a prescription and the dispensing pharmacist is responsible for the
accuracy of the medication or devices dispensed.

¢ The change in Section 2521 — Emergency Refills increases the quantity of medication a
pharmacist may dispense for an emergency refill, from the previous 72-hour supply to
now a 30-day supply.

e The changes in Sections 2519, 2525, 2745, and 2747 all relate to the expiration date
and refill limitations for prescriptions for controlled substances listed in Schedule V.
Previously, such prescriptions were treated the same as prescriptions for medications
listed in Schedules Il and IV — a six-month expiration date and a maximum of five refills.
Under the new rule, Schedule V prescriptions are treated the same as prescriptions for
other non-controlled prescription medications — a one year expiration date and no limits
on refills subject to the one year expiration date. These changes make Louisiana rules
for Schedule V prescriptions consistent with federal rules.

Replacement chapters with the new rules have been posted on the Laws & Rules page of the
Board’s website.
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