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Change Creates Questions (98-07-16)

Someone once said change is what people fear most, Below are
pharmacy technician questions that the Louisiana Board of Phar-
macy office answers on a daily basis. The Board will continue to
address your concemns as the pharmacy technician program evelves.

The start of knowledge begins with a question . . .,

Question: What are the Board's continuing education (CE) re-
quiremenis for pharmacy technicians in 1998?
Answer: The Board will not require CE hours for 1998. The Board
will notify all Louisiana-certified pharmacy technicians if CE hours
are required in 1999.
Q: When will the next pharmacy technician examination be given
by the Board?
A: The Board has scheduled the next exam for August 8, 1998, at
the University of New Orleans. Please note that all applications
must be in the Board office 30 days before that exam date.
Q: The Board told me I cannot receive my pharmacy technician
certificate because I owe money for student loans.
A: The Board office is required by Act 689 of 1990 to submit names
of all applicants seeking issuance or renewal of certificates, li-
censes, or permits to the Louisiana Office of Student Financial
Assistance (LOSFA) for clearance to verify that there are no de-
faulted student loans. If LOSFA notifies the Board office that an
individual has defaulted on a student loan, the Board may not
issue or renew any certificate, license, or permit unless a satisfac-
tory arrangement between the applicant and LOSFA is made for
repayment. After satisfactory arrangements are made, LOSFA noti-
fies the Board office in writing.

0: My pharmacy technician just won the lottery and I have to

hire and train a pharmacy technician candidate right away, What

do I do and what is required?

A: Here is a condensed version of what must be done:

1. The pharmacy technician candidate must successfully com-
plete a Board-approved training program.

2. The pharmacy technician candidate must obtain a minimum of
200 training hours, only under the authorization of an on-site
training work permit, which can be issued only after a training
program has begun.

3. The pharmacist-in-charge must provide the Board with an affi-
davit of the training hours cbtained.

4, The pharmacy technician candidate then may complete and
submit to the Board an application and fee for the technician
examination at least 30 days prior to the examination.

5. A minimum score of 75 must be obtained for a candidate to pass
the examination.
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This is a brief explanation of Chapter 8, Section 805, pages 133-
134 of the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy Regulations. Please read
and review the entire chapter.

Q: [ am a certified pharmacy technician. Why do I have to wear a
name tag?

A: The Board regulations specify that all pharmacy technicians
shall be identified by a name badge and the “Pharmacy Techni-
cian” designation while working in the pharmacy. This is done for
identification purposes and to ensure that the one-to-one pharma-
cist/technician ratio is complied with.

Q: Now that I am a certified technician, I notice that the pharma-
cist-in-charge allows me to work alone in the pharmacy depart-
ment while he runs errands. Is that OK?

A: Positively NO! A pharmacy technician assists in the practice of
pharmacy under the direct and immediate supervision of a Louisi-
ana-licensed pharmacist. You are placing your certificate in seri-
ous jeopardy. If the pharmacist you work with does this again, halt
all technician duties, and vacate and secure the pharmacy pre-
scription department. The pharmacist’s license is also subject to
Board action.

Q: We have a very busy store and I need help. Can I work alone
with two technicians on duty at the same time?

A: No! The ratio of no more than one pharmacy technician per
supervising pharmacist on duty is the limit.

@: Can I, as a pharmacy technician, receive prescription orders
over the phone?

A: A phammacy technician cannot receive an original, oral tele-
phone prescription order. Refill information can be received by the
technician, provided the refill information does not generate a new
prescription order.

Q: What if I do not pay my pharmacy technician renewal fee of
350, since I just gave the Board 8100 in February?

A: In February, you submitted $100 to the Board of Pharmacy for the
pharmacy technician examination in order to obtain an exemption.
This exemption allowed you to waive the didactic pharmacy techni-
cian program and the on-site technician training program, which are
now required, This examination fee is separate and apart from the $50
renewal fee that you must send to the Board office with your com-
pleted, signed application for renewal, A certificate not renewed by
July 15, 1998, will be null and void. You may not be employed as a
technician unless you have a current certificate on display.

Disciplinary Actions (98-07-17)

The Louisiana Board of Pharmacy held a formal administrative
hearing on April 23, 1998, at the First Circuit Court of Appeals,
1600 North Third Street in Baton Rouge. Although every effort is
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FDA Acts on Modernization Act of 1997

The Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has been hard at
work in response to the recent passage of the Food and Drug
Administration Modernization Act of 1997 (FDAMA). Sec-
tion 809 of the FDAMA exempts compounding by pharma-
cists and physicians from FDA regulation, under certain con-
ditions, and also maintains that compounding is appropri-
ately regulated at the state level by the boards of pharmacy.

Advisory Committee Established

In accordance with the provisions of Section 809, the FDA
has established a Pharmacy Compounding Advisory Com-
mittee “to provide advice on scientific, technical, and medi-
cal issues concerning drug compounding by licensed practi-
tioners and to make appropriate recommendations to the
Commissioner of Food and Drugs.”

The March 10, 1998 announcement in the Federal Reg-
ister states that the 15-member committee will include ex-
perts in pharmaceutical compounding, pharmacy practices
specializing in compounding, general retail pharmacy
practice, hospital pharmacy practice, fields of medicine in
which compounding drugs or the use of compounded drugs
is relatively common, pharmaceutical manufacturing,
clinical toxicology, clinical pharmacology, chemistry, and re-
lated specialties.

The committee will also include a representative from
the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP),
the United States Pharmacopoeia (USP), a pharmacy or-
ganization, a physician organization, a consumer organiza-
tion, and the pharmaceutical manufacturing industry.

Guidelines for Industry Available

In the March 13, 1998 Federal Register, the FDA an-
nounced the availability of a guide for the pharmacy indus-
try entitled “Implementation of Section 126, Elimination of
Certain Labeling Requirements, of the Food and Drug Ad-
ministration Modernization Act of 1997.” The guidelines
clarify FDA policy with respect to the implementation of
certain FDAMA amendments to the Food, Drug and Cos-
metic Act. The amendments addressed by the guidelines
document include those which require that labels of pre-
scription products, prior to dispensing, contain at a minimum
the statement “Rx only” instead of “Caution: Federal law
prohibits dispensing without prescription.” Also addressed
are those amendments that repeal the requirement that the
labels of certain habit-forming drugs bear the statement
“Warning — May be habit forming.”

The guidelines describe the new prescription drug label-
ing requirements of the Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act as

amended by FDAMA and advise manufacturers, packers,
and distributors of the policy that the FDA will follow in
implementing the requirements of Section 126. The guide-
lines may be found on the Internet at http://www.fda.gov/
cder/guidance/index.htm. Written requests may be submit-
ted to the Drug Information Branch (HFD-210), CDER,
FDA, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857. Include a
self-addressed stamped envelope with each request.

FDA Declares OTC Quinine Misbranded

In response to concerns about the use of over-the-counter
(OTC) quinine for the treatment and/or prevention of ma-
laria, the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) published a
final rule in the March 20, 1998 Federal Register estab-
lishing that OTC drugs containing quinine for the treatment
and/or prevention of malaria are not generally recognized
as safe and are misbranded. This action reclassifies quinine
as a new drug within the meaning of the Federal Food, Drug
and Cosmetic Act and requires that FDA approval be ob-
tained for marketing.

The decision to classify OTC quinine as unsafe was based
on data and information examined by the FDA while it was
reviewing OTC quinine for the treatment and/or prevention
of nocturnal leg cramps. Quinine was removed from the
market for this indication due to the lack of substantial evi-
dence of effectiveness, along with evidence of toxicity at
the doses recommended. Additionally, the FDA expressed
serious safety and efficacy concerns with regard to the con-
tinued OTC availability of quinine for the self-treatment of
malaria without the care and supervision of a physician,

This final rule became effective April 20, 1998. For fur-
ther information, contact John D. Lipnicki, CDER (HFS-
560), FDA, 5600 Fishers Lane, Rockville, MD 20857, 301/
827-2222.

NABP Survey Indicates Increased
Telepharmacy Regulation

Over the past few years, a growing number of pharma-
cists have been providing pharmaceutical care across state
boundaries, using increasingly sophisticated telecommuni-
cations technologies that allow cost-effective, rapid trans-
mission of information over long distances. While these phar-
macists provide such pharmaceutical care services as drug
use evaluations and medication information, they do not dis-
pense medications. As “telepharmacy” becomes more com-
mon, boards of pharmacy have begun to look at ways to
regulate the practice.

Earlier this year, the National Association of Boards of
Pharmacy (NABP) conducted a survey of the state boards
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of pharmacy to discover how they were regulating
telepharmacy. Although none of the 30 responding states
have implemented a nonresident pharmacist registration
requirement as recommended by NABP’s Task Force on
Telepharmacy, 10 to 13 percent appear to be applying their
current laws and regulations to the practice of telepharmacy.
Moreover, another 23 to 33 percent of the responding states
indicated that they would be addressing the telepharmacy
issue in the near future. “These regulatory efforts are sig-
nificant because they recognize pharmaceutical care as a
health care service provided by pharmacists,” said NABP
Chairman Franklin Z. Wickham. “The regulations also serve
to protect patients from providers who have previously been

outside the states’ jurisdictional authority.”

The survey results show that states applying their cur-
rent laws and regulations to telepharmacy generally require
full in-state pharmacist licensure for nonresident pharma-
cists who provide only pharmaceutical care, not pharma-
ceuticals, to their citizens. Another survey result, however,
counters the philosophy that a pharmacist provides a service
rather than just dispenses a drug product. About 23 percent
of the responding states noted that their current nonresident
pharmacy regulations require the locations from which these
pharmacists provide services to be registered as nonresi-
dent pharmacies. This requirement would apply even though
the pharmacists were not dispensing drugs into the state
and even though such locations as home offices would be
affected. Similarly, about 23 percent of the responding states
would require locations that provide pharmaceutical care
services within the state to be registered as pharmacies.

Licensure/registration was addressed by NABP’s 1996-
97 Task Force on Telepharmacy, which determined that a
registration requirement should be established for nonresi-
dent pharmacists, as opposed to nonresident pharmacies,
that provide pharmaceutical care to in-state citizens. The
Task Force noted that such a registration requirement would
allow states to identify those persons providing pharmaceu-
tical care to their citizens, bring those providers under the
state’s jurisdiction, and ensure the providers’ familiarity with

the state’s pharmacy practice laws.

NABP’s telepharmacy survey presented the state boards
with questions related to four telepharmacy practice sce-
narios reflecting actual questions the Association has re-

{ ceived from pharmacists or pharmacies with regard to ac-
tivities they would like to perform or are currently perform-
ing. A complete chart summary of the scenarios and the
state boards’ responses can be found on NABP’s Web site,

www.nabp.net.

NABP Launches Pharmacist and
Pharmacy Achievement and Discipline
Database on Web Site

On June 1, 1998, the National Association of Boards of
Pharmacy (NABP) launched its Pharmacist and Pharmacy
Achievement and Discipline™ (PPAD™) database on the
Association’s Web site at www.nabp.net. The database
provides information regarding those disciplinary actions im-
posed by state boards of pharmacy that affect a pharmacist’s
ability to practice, and highlights the positive steps taken by
pharmacists to enhance their ability to practice pharmacy.

Visitors to NABP’s Web site may search the PPAD da-
tabase by the pharmacist’s name and state of residence or
licensure. The database does not specify any additional iden-
tifying information, such as the pharmacist’s address and
phone number.

The following data is provided for disciplined licensees:
the state or states in which the pharmacist is licensed and
the license number(s), the state imposing the disciplinary
action, the action imposed, and the effective date of the
disciplinary action or the date NABP received notice of the
disciplinary action from the board of pharmacy. The data-
base does not disclose the reason that the board imposed
the disciplinary action.

Actions reported in the disciplinary database are limited
to license revocation, suspension, surrender of licensure, pro-
bation, termination of probation, and reinstatement of licen-
sure. Minor actions, such as a censure, reprimand, fine, or
monetary penalty, are not reported on the database. In the
future, disciplinary information pertaining to pharmacies, in-
terns, and technicians will be added.

NABP plans to expand the database to include informa-
tion about the certification and accreditation achievements
awarded individuals, such as successfully completing the
Pharmacist Applied Knowledge and Judgment Assessment™
(PAKJA™), formerly known as the Pharmacist Continued
Competency Assessment Mechanism™ (PCCAM™).
PAKIJA is a voluntary competency assessment tool sched-
uled for implementation in late 1999,

“The PPAD database was implemented to assist the state
boards of pharmacy in fulfilling their responsibilities to pro-
tect the public health by providing access to crucial disci-
plinary information about their pharmacists,” said NABP
President Kevin E. Kinkade. “Pharmacy should be com-
mended for taking the lead among the allied health care
professions and making this important information available
to consumers.”
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made to ensure disciplinary action information is correct, you

should check with the Board (504/925-6496) to verify the accuracy

of the listing before making any decision based on this information.

Joel A, Fruge, #14466; Voluntary Consent Agreement: License
reprimanded and assessed $250. Charges: Violating pharmacy
laws and unauthorized dispensing of veterinary legend drugs.

Robert N. Hall, #9994: License suspended for two years effective
April 15, 1997, then placed on probation for eight years and
assessed $5,000. Charges: Violating pharmacy laws, unautho-
rized dispensing of controlled drugs and forged prescriptions.

Homer Memorial Hospital Pharmacy, #0469; Voluntary Consent
Agreement: Permit owners not to violate any pharmacy laws or
regulations and assessed $1,000, Charges: Operations for which
the permit was issued are not being conducted in compliance
with the rules and regulations of the Board and are being con-
ducted so as to endanger the public.

Kimberly Ann Kaiser, Technician Certificate #1647: Action by
the Interlocutory Committee to suspend certificate #1647 until
ratified at the next office Board session.

Nielsen City Drugs, Inc., #0821; Voluntary Consent Agreement:
Permit owner not to viclate any pharmacy laws or regulations
and assessed $500. Charges: Operations for which the permit
was issued are not being conducted in compliance with the
rules and regulations of the Board and are being conducted so
as to endanger the public.

William W, Nielsen, Jr., #14238; Voluntary Consent Agreement:
License reprimanded and assessed $250. Charges: Violating
pharmacy laws and unauthorized dispensing of veterinary leg-
end drugs.

William W. Nielsen, Sr., #8607; Voluntary Consent Agreement:
License reprimanded and assessed $250. Charges: Violating
pharmacy laws and unauthorized dispensing of veterinary leg-
end drugs.

Karl P. Petry, #13125; Voluntary Consent Agreement: License
suspended for four months effective November 10, 1997, then
placed on probation for 116 months and assessed $5,000.
Charges: Violating pharmacy laws, failure to maintain Schedule
11 invoices separately, failure to complete biennial inventory,
failure to remove expired legend drugs, unauthorized dispens-
ing of controlled and legend drugs, and probation violation.

R. Lewis Rieger, #7077: License suspended for six months effec-
tive June 1, 1998, then placed on probation for 114 months with
special conditions and assessed $5,000. Charges: Violating
pharmacy laws, unauthorized dispensing of legend drugs, re-
filling legend drugs for more than one year without authoriza-

tion, failure to provide proper notice of store closure, and fail-
ure to maintain prescription files as required.

H. Percy Taylor, #10923; Probation modified to allow Mr. Taylor
to be pharmacist-in-charge.

Thibodeaux Pharmacy, Ine., #2606; Yoluntary Consent Agree-
ment: Permit placed on probation for two years and assessed
$2,000. Charges: Violating pharmacy laws, operations for which
the permit was issued are not being conducted in accordance
with the rules and regulations of the Board or are being con-
ducted so as to endanger the public.

R. Blake Vidrine, #10232; Voluntary Consent Agreement: License
reprimanded and assessed $250. Charges: Violating pharmacy
laws and unauthorized dispensing of veterinary legend drugs.
The Board also adjudicated 11 cases in the impaired pharmacist

programi.

Board Adopts Changes in
Pharmacy Rules (98-07-18)

In April, the Board of Pharmacy promulgated several changes
in the pharmacy rules, The Board mailed copies to all permitted
pharmacy sites. If you would like a copy of the regulation changes,
simply wiite to the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy and request them.

Lagniappe (a little extral!) (98-07-19)

The next time your colleagues think they have the future fig-
ured out, remind them of this famous prediction: “The telephone
has too many shartcomings to be seriously considered as a means
of communication. The device is inherently of no value to us."”
(Westemn Union internal memo, 1876)

Public Notice (98-07-20)

The Louisiana Board of Pharmacy News is considered an offi-
cial method of notification to pharmacists licensed by the Louisi-
ana Board of Pharmacy. These newsletters will be used in hear-
ings as proof of notification. Please read them carefully and keep
them for future reference.
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Fred H. Mills, Jr., RPh - State News Editor
Carmen A, Catizone, MS, RPh - National News Editor & Executive Editor
Anna Geraci - Editorial Managcr_ N

LS "ON WuLIad
stour|] ‘oFearyD
arvd
23msod ‘s
ey Ng

ADVINIVHA 40 QAVOd VNVISINGT

89009 stoutyy *>8pry Yed

Aemydiy assng QoL
*2Uf ‘UONEPUNO.] AJBULIEY] JO SPIOE JO UONRIDOSSY [BUONEN]



