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Year 2002 Registration Renewal (01-10-112)
The Louisiana Board of Pharmacy office will begin printing pharmacist

license and pharmacy permit renewal applications on October 15. Any
address changes submitted to our office on or after October 12 will not
be reflected on your renewal applications. We will mail all pharmacist and
pharmacy renewal applications on October 29.

If you do not receive your renewal application on or before
November 15, it is your responsibility to obtain a renewal applica-
tion. Applications have been provided to all pharmacists-in-charge
(PIC) for placement in the Louisiana Pharmacy Law Book at page
336.9. We suggest you make a copy of the form and return the
original form to the book for future use. A copy of the renewal form
can also be obtained from our Web site at www.labp.com.

Pharmacist License Renewal
→License expires December 31, 2001; pharmacists may not practice

with expired licenses.
→ If you need a current renewal on or before January 1, 2002, we sug-

gest you submit your completed application and $75 fee to the Board
office on or before December 1, 2001.

→The renewal of an expired license will incur a 100% penalty, as well
as a lapsed license reinstatement fee, resulting in a total charge of $350.

Pharmacy Permit Renewal
→Permit expires December 31; pharmacies may not operate with

expired permits.
→Completed application and $100 permit fee (and $25 Controlled

Dangerous Substances [CDS] permit fee, if needed) due in
Board office on or before December 31, 2001.

→After January 15, 2002, the renewal of an expired permit will incur a
50% penalty, resulting in a total charge of $150 and $37.50 for a
CDS permit, if needed.

Pharmacists, Technicians, and Interns (01-10-113)
If you are a pharmacist-in-charge (PIC), at all times you must ensure

that all personnel you allow to function in your prescription department
performing pharmacist functions are properly licensed, certified, regis-
tered, or in possession of a valid work permit (pharmacy technician trainee).

If you are a staff pharmacist or relief pharmacist, it is your responsibil-
ity to ensure that the employees assisting you in the prescription dispens-
ing process are legally able to perform their duties during your shift. If an
inspection or investigation occurs while you are on duty and unqualified
persons are performing duties under your supervision, then you will be
responsible in the Board’s investigative report filed by the compliance officer.

Do You Have an Unpaid Student Loan? (01-10-114)
Act 689 of the 1990 Louisiana Legislature requires all professional

licensing boards to refuse to issue or renew licenses, registrations, or

certificates to individuals found to be in default of any outstanding
student loan repayment agreements. The Board is required to sub-
mit names of all pharmacists, interns, and technicians to the Loui-
siana Office of Student Financial Assistance for clearance. Only
when that agency certifies an individual to be in compliance may
the Board then issue the license, registration, or certificate.

Are You Subject to an Order for Child Support?
(01-10-115)

Act 612 of the 2001 Louisiana Legislature requires all professional
licensing boards to suspend the license, registration, or certificate of indi-
viduals for nonpayment of child support. The Board is required to submit
names of all pharmacists, interns, and technicians to the Office of Family
Support in the Louisiana Department of Social Services for clearance. If
that agency certifies the individual as noncompliant with an order for child
support, the Board is required to suspend the license, registration, or
certificate within 30 days. Once suspended, the licensee must obtain clear-
ance from that agency prior to any application for reinstatement.

Attention Hospital Pharmacies (01-10-116)
During its August 2000 meeting, the Board voted to disallow

any exemptions to the regulation concerning minimum specifica-
tions for intravenous admixture preparation areas, specifically LAC
46:LIII.2541.E.2. The Board office notified all hospital pharmacies
of this decision in September 2000. To provide time for hospitals to
make the necessary structural changes, the Board authorized the
delay of enforcement until January 1, 2002.

Disciplinary Actions (01-10-117)
Although every effort is made to ensure that the information presented

here is correct, you should call the Board office at 225/925-6496 to
verify the accuracy of the listing prior to making any decision based on
this information. During its August 16 administrative hearing, the Board
took final action in the following matters:
Elizabeth Rose Boudreaux (Pharmacist License No. 16295), Vol-

untary Consent Agreement: License reprimanded, plus licensee shall
earn an additional 15 hours of continuing education (CE), at least three
of which shall be obtained through live contact sessions, all prior to
December 31, 2001. Charges: (1) obtained a license by fraud or mis-
representation, (2) failed to furnish to the Board information legally
when requested by the Board.

John Henry Dykes (Pharmacist License No. 16216), Voluntary Con-
sent Agreement: License reprimanded, plus licensee shall earn an addi-
tional 15 hours of CE, at least three of which shall be obtained through
live contact sessions, all prior to December 31, 2001. Charges:
(1) obtained a license by fraud or misrepresentation, (2) failed to
furnish to the Board information legally requested by the Board.
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Zeta Lyn Hayes (Pharmacist License No. 14935), Voluntary Con-
sent Agreement: License reprimanded, plus licensee shall earn an addi-
tional 15 hours of CE, at least three of which shall be obtained through
live contact sessions, all prior to December 31, 2001. Charges:
(1) obtained a license by fraud or misrepresentation, (2) failed to
furnish to the Board information legally requested by the Board.

Bruce Samuel Taylor (Pharmacist License No. 13364), Voluntary
Consent Agreement: License suspended for two years; suspension
stayed, then placed on probation for two years, ending July 14, 2003.
Licensee shall earn an additional 10 hours of CE prior to December
31, 2001. License assessed administrative costs. Charges: (1) ob-
tained a license by fraud or misrepresentation, (2) failed to furnish to
the Board information legally requested by the Board.

Peter Joseph Willis, Jr (Pharmacist License No. 13146), Voluntary
Consent Agreement: License suspended for two years; suspension
stayed, then placed on probation for two years, ending August 15,
2003. Licensee shall earn an additional 25 hours of CE prior to
December 31, 2001. License assessed $1,000 plus administrative
costs. Charges: (1) obtained a license by fraud or misrepresenta-
tion, (2) failed to furnish to the Board information legally requested
by the Board.

Cynthia Ann Maxey (Pharmacist License No. 15613), Voluntary
Consent Agreement: License suspended for five years; application for
reinstatement prohibited for at least one year, provided that any rein-
statement granted prior to March 26, 2005, shall be placed on proba-
tion, subject to certain terms. License assessed $2,500 plus
administrative and investigative costs. Charges: (1) practiced phar-
macy in violation of pharmacy laws and regulations, (2) pharmacist-in-
charge failed to manage prescription department in compliance with all
federal and state pharmacy laws and regulations, (3) pharmacist-in-
charge accountable for audits of controlled substances.

Charles Scott Weatherford (Pharmacist License No. 15275), Vol-
untary Consent Agreement: License suspended for 10 years; applica-
tion for reinstatement prohibited for at least five years, provided that
any reinstatement granted prior to November 6, 2010, shall be placed
on probation, subject to certain terms. License assessed $10,000 plus
administrative and investigative costs. Charges: (1) practiced phar-
macy in violation of pharmacy laws and regulations, (2) felony convic-
tion in state court, (3) unlawful dispensation or distribution
of Schedule IV controlled substance, (4) unlawful dispensa-
tion of legend drug, (5) pharmacist-in-charge accountable
for audits of controlled substances.

Joyce Ann Boyd (Technician Certificate No. 1605), Voluntary Con-
sent Agreement: Certificate revoked. Charges: (1) evaded local,
state, or federal laws pertaining to practice of pharmacy, (2) un-

lawful possession with intent to distribute Schedule III con-
trolled substance.

Demetria M. Ketchens (Technician Certificate No. 1677), Formal
Hearing: Certificate revoked. Charges: (1) assisted in the practice of
pharmacy in violation of pharmacy laws and regulations, (2) unlawful
possession of Schedule III controlled substance.

Annetta Jean Hathorne (Technician Certificate No. 3064), Formal
Hearing: Certificate revoked. Charges: (1) evaded local, state, or fed-
eral laws pertaining to practice of pharmacy, (2) unlawful possession
with intent to distribute Schedule III controlled substance.

Shawne L. Karcher (Technician Certificate No. 4170), Voluntary
Consent Agreement: Certificate revoked. Charges: (1) evaded
local, state, or federal laws pertaining to practice of pharmacy,
(2) unlawful possession with intent to distribute Schedule III
controlled substance, (3) unlawful possession with intent to
distribute Schedule IV controlled substance.

Gwenetta T. Long (Technician Trainee Permit No. 5287), Formal
Re-Hearing: Certificate revoked. Charges: (1) obtained permit by fraud
or misrepresentation, (2) failure to obtain high school diploma or Gen-
eral Education Development (GED) equivalency certificate.
In addition, the Board issued formal warnings to three pharmacists,

two technicians, and one permit holder. The Board reprimanded three
pharmacists and two permits. They also levied assessments against one
permit. Regarding requests for reinstatement, the Board granted requests
from three pharmacists; they also removed probation for one pharmacist.
Regarding impaired practitioners, the Board accepted the voluntary sur-
render of five pharmacist licenses and one technician certificate, reinstated
four pharmacists on probation, placed two pharmacists on probation,
and denied a request for reinstatement from one pharmacist.

Special Note (01-10-118)
The Louisiana Board of Pharmacy News is considered an official

method of notification to pharmacists and certified pharmacy technicians
licensed by the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy. These Newsletters
will be used in administrative hearings as proof of notification.
Please read them carefully and keep them for future reference.
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