

Louisiana Board of Pharmacy

Published to promote voluntary compliance of pharmacy and drug law.

5615 Corporate Blvd, Suite 8E, Baton Rouge, LA 70808 www.labp.com

Renewal of Pharmacy Technician Certificates (01-04-99)

The Louisiana Board of Pharmacy office staff will begin printing pharmacy technician certificate renewal applications on April 16. Any address changes submitted to the office on or after April 15 will not be reflected on the renewal application. We will mail applications for renewal of pharmacy technician certificates on April 2.

If you do not receive your renewal application on or before May 15, it is your responsibility to obtain a renewal application. One source is the *Louisiana Pharmacy Law Book*, found in every pharmacy. A blank renewal form is provided on page 336.8; the current version of the form is dated October 2000 in the lower right corner of the page. We suggest you copy the form, return the original to the *Law Book* for future use, and use the copy to apply for your certificate renewal. Another source for a copy of the renewal form is the Board's Web site at www.labp.com.

All current pharmacy technician certificate renewals will expire June 30. If you need a renewal on or before July 1, we suggest you mail the completed application with a fee of \$50 on or before May 30. Pharmacy technicians may not practice with an expired certificate. The renewal of an expired certificate will incur an additional \$200 reinstatement fee, resulting in a total charge of \$250. Applications bearing a US Postal Service postmark of July 3 or later must be accompanied by the late fee, or they will be returned. The renewal application for expired pharmacy technician certificates may possibly be referred to the Board's Reinstatement Committee, depending on the date received by the Board office.

As a reminder, Act 689 of the 1990 Louisiana Legislature requires all professional licensing boards to refuse to issue or renew licenses or certificates to individuals found to be in default of any outstanding loan repayment agreements. When the Board receives certificate renewal applications, it is required to submit those names to the Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance (LOSFA) for clearance. Only after LOSFA certifies an individual to be in compliance can the Board then issue a certificate renewal.

In response to several questions received in the office, we would like to clarify that the new continuing education requirement for pharmacy technicians does not apply to the 2001 renewal. However, in order to receive a July 1, 2002 renewal, a pharmacy technician must obtain at least 10 hours of American Council on Pharmaceutical Education or Board-approved continuing education in the 12-month period from July 1, 2001, through June 30, 2002. Remember to keep copies of all continuing education certificates at the primary practice site for at least two years.

Finally, for those pharmacy technicians who practice at multiple sites, you should post the original copy of your certificate renewal at your primary work site. You should provide a copy of that renewal to the pharmacist-in-charge of any other site at which you work. We also provide an identification card with the renewal that is designed to fit in a wallet. You should carry that card at all times as evidence that you are currently certified as a pharmacy technician

Pharmacists, Pharmacy Technicians, and Pharmacy Interns (01-04-100)

If you are a pharmacist-in-charge, you must at all times ensure that all personnel you allow to function in your prescription department who perform pharmacist functions are properly licensed, certified, or in possession of a valid work permit (pharmacist intern or pharmacy technician trainee).

If you are a staff pharmacist or a relief pharmacist, it is your obligation to ensure that the employees assisting you in the prescription dispensing process are legally authorized to perform their duties during your shift. If an inspection or investigation occurs while you are on duty and unqualified persons are performing duties under your supervision, you will be responsible to the Board in an investigative report filed by an inspector.

Quick Review – Prescriptions for Schedule II Controlled Substances (01-04-101)

- Must be dated on the date issued, and is valid for one year thereafter.
- ♦ May be written in ink or typewritten by anyone, but must bear a handwritten signature of the prescriber no stamps.
- Medication ordered must be within the scope of practice of the prescriber.
- ◆ Prescriber may not prescribe for self.
- ◆ After consultation with the prescriber, a pharmacist may complete, but not alter, a prescription. Thus, a pharmacist may change a patient's address, the drug strength, the drug quantity, or directions for use; the pharmacist may also add a patient's address, the drug dosage form, or the prescriber's Drug Enforcement Adminstration number. The pharmacist is never permitted to make changes to the patient's name, the date of issue, the controlled substance prescribed (except for generic interchange permitted by state law), or the prescriber's signature.

Continued on page 4

LA Vol. 22, No. 4 Page 1

Continued from page 1

- The maximum quantity that may be dispensed is the amount prescribed.
- ♦ If the pharmacist is unable to fill the entire quantity, partial filling is permitted. The remainder must be supplied within 72 hours of the first partial filling. If the remaining portion cannot be supplied within 72 hours, the pharmacist must notify the prescriber, and no further filling is permitted without a new prescription.
- ◆ If the patient does not wish to receive the total amount prescribed, the pharmacist must cancel any remainder, and no further filling is permitted without a new prescription.
- In emergency situations, pharmacists may dispense Schedule II substances upon receipt of an oral authorization from the prescriber, provided that (1) the quantity prescribed and dispensed is limited to the amount adequate to treat the emergency, (2) the pharmacist reduces the authorization to writing, and (3) the pharmacist makes a good faith effort to ascertain the legitimacy of the prescriber. The prescriber is responsible for sending a written prescription to the pharmacist within seven days of the oral authorization; the written prescription must be titled "Authorization for Emergency Dispensing." The pharmacist must attach the prescriber's written prescription to the pharmacist's record of oral authorization. If the pharmacist has not received the prescriber's written prescription within seven days, the pharmacist is required to notify the DEA of the prescriber's failure; if not, the pharmacist has lost the authority to dispense without a written prescription.
- ♦ Facsimile copies of orders for Schedule II controlled substances for residents of long term care facilities, hospice patients, or for medications to be compounded and administered by parenteral infusion may be maintained as the originally written prescriptions by pharmacists. Pharmacists may utilize facsimile copies of all other prescriptions for Schedule II controlled substances as working documents, but the original written document must be presented to the pharmacist for review prior to dispensing the medication.
- ♦ No refills are permitted.

Staffing Update (01-04-102)

Ms Jeri Villeneuve has recently completed 15 years of service to the Board. Many of you know her as the one who takes care of licenses, certificates, and permits. After handling most of the licensure processing either alone or with temporary student help for many years, the Board recently hired a licensing assistant. Ms Lorraine Brinegar joined the staff on January 16. Any questions concerning the issuance or renewal of pharmacy permits, pharmacist licenses, pharmacy technician certificates, pharmacy intern registrations/work permits, or pharmacy technician trainee work permits should be directed to either of these ladies. Welcome to the family, Lorraine!

Calendar Notes (01-04-103)

The next board meeting will be held May 16-17 in the Board office in Baton Rouge. The office will be closed on April 13 in observance of Good Friday, as well on May 28 in observance of Memorial Day.

Disciplinary Actions (01-04-104)

During its February 8, 2001 meeting, the Board accepted the voluntary surrender of three licenses from impaired pharmacists, one certificate from an impaired pharmacy technician, and one registration from an impaired intern. The Board also reinstated the licenses of two pharmacists without restriction, and another two pharmacists on probation. A petition for modification of probationary terms was granted to one pharmacist. Finally, the Board issued a formal warning to a pharmacy technician.

Special Note (01-04-105)

The Louisiana Board of Pharmacy News is considered an official method of notification to pharmacists and pharmacy technicians licensed by the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy. **These** Newsletters will be used in administrative hearings as proof of notification. Please read them carefully and keep them in the back of the Pharmacy Law Book for future reference.

Page 4 – April 2001

The Louisiana Board of Pharmacy News is published by the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy and the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy Foundation, Inc, to promote voluntary compliance of pharmacy and drug law. The opinions and views expressed in this publication do not necessarily reflect the official views, opinions, or policies of the Foundation or the Board unless expressly so stated.

Malcolm J. Broussard, RPh - State News Editor

Carmen A. Catizone, MS, RPh - National News Editor & Executive Editor

Courtney M. Karzen - Editorial Manager

Presorted Standard
U.S. Postage
PAID
Chicago, Illinois
Permit No. 5744

LOUISIANA BOARD OF PHARMACY

National Association of Boards of Pharmacy Foundation, Inc. 700 Busse Highway
Park Ridge, Illinois 60068