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Election of Officers (01-01-94)
The Louisiana Board of Pharmacy conducted its annual election

of officers during the regular meeting held in Baton Rouge on Tues-
day, November 28, 2000. The following officers were reelected:
Carl W. Aron  (Monroe).................................................. President
Philip C. “Pete” Aucoin  (New Iberia)..............First Vice President
B. Belaire Bourg (Baton Rouge)................Second Vice President
T. Morris Rabb  (Monroe)...............................Third Vice President
Reuben R. Dixon (New Orleans)......................................Secretary

Staffing Changes (01-01-95)
Ms Mary Beth Isacks, administrative assistant of the Board, re-

signed her position last month and moved to Alabama. Ms Isacks
was an integral part of the Board office since May 1990. We will
certainly miss her, and we wish her and her husband well in their new
endeavors. The Board hired a new administrative assistant last month;
Ms Gail Leggett comes to us from the Office of the Attorney General
for the State of Louisiana. Welcome to the family, Gail!

Board Meeting Dates for 2001 (01-01-96)
The Board has announced its tentative meeting dates for 2001. All

Board meetings will be held at the Board office, unless otherwise
indicated. Administrative hearings are planned in conjunction with
the May and November meetings.

February 7-8 August 15-16
May 16-17 November 14-15

New Regulations (01-01-97)
As you are aware, the Louisiana legislature revised the Louisi-

ana Pharmacy Practice Act last year. As a result of the new law, the
Board is reviewing and revising all the regulations. You should
consult an updated law book, or our Web site at www.labp.com, to
see the entire regulation.

Chapter 7 – Pharmacy Education: The entire chapter was revised,
effective October 20, 2000.
♦ Intern Registration/Work Permit – This one document replaces

two separate documents. All students shall register with the
Board at the beginning of their academic careers, pay the $10
fee, and receive the registration/work permit, which will expire
one year after the date of graduation. Since the permit is issued
to the intern, it is portable.

♦ Practical Experience – The Board will now credit up to 50 hours
per week, regardless of whether school is in session. PharmD
candidates will be granted 1100 hours credit for their rotation
experience, provided they earn at least 400 hours on their own
prior to graduation.

♦ Continuing Education – The Board removed the requirement
to list continuing education (CE) activities on the pharmacist
license renewal application. Instead, pharmacists are now
required to maintain copies of their CE records at their pri-
mary practice site for at least two years. Both the office and
the field inspectors will continue the practice of random
audits. Pharmacists must earn at least 15 hours of American
Council on Pharmaceutical Education (ACPE)-approved CE
that is credited during the one-year period prior to the ef-
fective date of the renewal.

Chapter 8 – Pharmacy Technicians: The entire chapter was re-
vised, effective December 1, 2000.
♦ Didactic Training Program – The Board deleted the requirement

for completion of a Board-approved didactic training program.
Technician trainees may now complete the training of their choice.

♦ Practical Experience – The number of hours has been changed
from 200 to 500. The Board will credit up to 50 hours per week,
provided the experience is obtained under the authority of a
work permit. The permit will be issued at no cost directly to the
trainee, so it is portable. The permit will expire in one year, and
it is not renewable. Hours earned under the work permit expire
one year after the permit expires. If the trainee has not earned at
least 500 hours prior to the expiration date of the permit, the
trainee must wait 18 months after the permit expiration date to
apply for another permit.

♦ Continuing Education – Pharmacy technicians must earn at
least 10 hours of ACPE-approved CE that is credited during the
one-year period prior to the effective date of their certificate
renewal. Since the Board must allow a full year to earn the CE,
this requirement will not apply to the July 1, 2001 renewal. It will
become effective with the July 1, 2002 renewal.

Chapter 12 – Automated Medication Systems: This entirely
new chapter became effective July 1, 2000. If you use any auto-
mated medication systems (AMS) in your practice, and you are
not sure if you need to register that system with the Board, here is
the definition of an AMS contained in the regulation: “includes,
but is not limited to, a mechanical system that performs operations
or activities, other than compounding or administration, relative to
the storage, packaging, or delivery of medications, and which col-
lects, controls, and maintains all transaction information” (LAC
46:LIII.1201.A). The implementation of this regulation required a
substantial investment in database and related process construc-
tion, which is nearing completion. We will mail applications for AMS
registration to those pharmacies that responded appropriately to our
survey. In the interim, you may wish to consult the regulation to
determine any necessary actions on your part.
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Chapter 35 at §3517 – Drug Returns: This amendment to the
section prohibiting returns of previously dispensed prescription
drugs became effective August 20, 2000. Prior to the amendment,
the only exception occurred in hospital pharmacies. The amend-
ment adds a second exception for provisional permitted (free clinic)
pharmacies. Under very narrowly defined circumstances, these
pharmacies may accept transfers of certain drugs from nursing
homes and certain other facilities for redispensing to indigent pa-
tients. There are only seven such pharmacies in the state, and they
have all been notified of this change.

As new regulations are promulgated and forms changed to re-
flect the new requirements, we are sending law book updates to all
pharmacies. In addition, when appropriate, certain categories of
licensees receive direct mailings from the office. The rules are chang-
ing, and you have a legal responsibility to keep up with these
changes. Please read your mail in a timely manner. If you have any
questions, please let us know.

Disciplinary Actions (01-01-98)
During its November 29, 2000, administrative hearing, the Board

took final action in the following matters. Although every effort is
made to ensure that the information is correct, you should call the
Board at 225/925-6496 to verify the accuracy of the listing before
making any decision based on this information.
Sherri Marie Barnett  (Technician Certificate No. 1239) Volun-

tary Consent Agreement: Certificate revoked. Charges: unlaw-
ful possession of Schedule III controlled substance.

Allison Ann Monetta [aka Allison Ann Beagle] (Technician Cer-
tificate No. 1266) Voluntary Consent Agreement: Certificate re-
voked. Charges: unlawful distribution of Schedule II and IV
controlled substances.

Paula Maria Lopez (Technician Certificate No. 2705) Voluntary
Consent Agreement: Certificate revoked. Charges: unlawful dis-
tribution of legend drugs, assisted in practice of pharmacy in
violation of pharmacy law or regulations; failure to report any
adverse action by law enforcement agency for conduct that would
constitute grounds for disciplinary action; failure to report
change of employment to the Board within 10 days of change.

Shawn Michael Corley (Technician Certificate No. 3286) Voluntary
Consent Agreement: Certificate revoked. Charges: unprofes-
sional conduct; unlawful distribution of Schedule III and IV con-
trolled substances.

Frederick O’Neal Selvage (Technician Certificate No. 2078) Vol-
untary Surrender: Certificate suspended indefinitely, beginning
June 15, 2000. Charges: assisted in the practice of pharmacy in
violation of pharmacy law or regulations; departed from or failed

to conform to minimal standards of acceptable and prevailing
pharmacy practice.

Ginger Gale Bordelon (Technician Certificate No. 1448) Voluntary
Consent Agreement: Certificate suspended for five years, begin-
ning October 12, 2000; not to reapply for reinstatement for at least
one year. When reinstated, balance of five-year term to be served
on probation. Certificate assessed $1,000 plus administrative costs,
to be paid prior to reinstatement. Charges: unprofessional con-
duct; dispensing Schedule III and IV controlled substances with-
out authorization; dispensing legend drugs without authorization.

Carlton Ireneaus Isidor Charles (License No. 11135) Voluntary
Consent Agreement: License suspended for 10 years, begin-
ning September 7, 2000; not to reapply for reinstatement for at
least five years. When reinstated, balance of 10-year term to be
served on probation. License assessed $10,000; one half of as-
sessment due upon execution of agreement, balance due prior
to reinstatement. Charges: unlawful possession and distribu-
tion of Schedule IV controlled substance; felony conviction in-
volving moral turpitude; practiced pharmacy in violation of
pharmacy law or regulation; evaded local, state, or federal laws
pertaining to the practice of pharmacy.

Lloyd Joseph Duplantis, Jr (License No. 9535) Voluntary Consent
Agreement: License suspended for five years, beginning August
23, 2000; suspension stayed and license placed on probation for
five years. License assessed $1,500 plus administrative costs.
Charges: has practiced pharmacy in violation of pharmacy law or
regulations; Medicaid and insurance fraud.

Walgreen’s Pharmacy No. 3047 (Permit No. 3245) Voluntary Con-
sent Agreement: Permit assessed $5,000 plus administrative costs.
Charges: has engaged a person in the practice of pharmacy with-
out a license, registration, certificate, permit, or any other designa-
tion deemed necessary to engage in the practice of pharmacy.
In addition, the Board accepted the voluntary license surrender

from one impaired pharmacist, modified probationary terms for two
impaired pharmacists, reinstated licenses for six pharmacists, de-
nied reinstatement to two pharmacists, suspended licenses of two
pharmacists, and reprimanded one pharmacist.


