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Regulatory Proposal 2020-M ~ Occupational Licenses for Military Families Draft #2

Louisiana Administrative Code
Title 46 — Professional and Occupational Standards
Part LIII: Pharmacists
Chapter 5. Pharmacists

Subchapter A. Licensure Procedures

§506. Preferential licensing procedures for military-trained applicants and their spouses
dependents
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Definitions

The following terms shall have the meaning ascribed to them in this Subsection:

Dependent — a resident spouse or resident unmarried child under the age of 21 years, a child who is a

student under the age of 24 years and who is financially dependent upon the parent, or a child of any

age who is disabled and dependent upon the parent.

Jurisdiction — any state or territory of the United States of America.

Military — the armed forces or reserves.of the United States, including the Army, Navy, Marine Corps,

Coast Guard, Air Force, and the reserve components thereof, the National Guard of any state, the

Military Reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any state.

Eligibility

The following persons are eligible for the preferential licensing procedures provided by this Section:

1. A member of the military who has been assigned to duty in Louisiana or his dependent.

2. A civilian employee of the United States Department of Defense who has been assigned to duty in

Louisiana or his dependent.

3. A member of the military or civilian employee of the United States Department of Defense or their

dependents who have established this state as their state of legal residence in their military record.

Requirements

Eligible persons seeking preferential licensing procedures shall demonstrate compliance with the

following requirements:

1. The applicant holds a current and valid pharmacist license in another jurisdiction.

2. The applicant has held the license in the other jurisdiction for at least one year.
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3. The applicant has satisfied all educational and experiential requirements required by the pharmacy

regulatory authority in the other jurisdiction.

4. The applicant is held in good standing by the pharmacy regulatory authority in the other

jurisdiction, or in the event such status is not used in that jurisdiction, the applicant holds an

unrestricted license in that jurisdiction.

5. The applicant does not have a disqualifying criminal record as determined by the board.

6. The applicant has not had an occupational license revoked by a board in another jurisdiction due to

negligence or intentional misconduct related to the applicant’s work in the occupation.

7. The applicant has not surrendered an occupational license due to negligence or intentional

misconduct related to the applicant’s work in the occupation in another jurisdiction.

8. The applicant does not have a complaint, allegations or investigation pending before a pharmacy

regulatory authority in another jurisdiction which relates to unprofessional conduct or an alleged

crime. If the applicant has a complaint, allegation, or investigation pending, the board shall not

issue or deny a license until the complaint, allegation, or investigation is resolved, or the applicant

otherwise satisfies the criteria for licensure in this state to the satisfaction of the board.

9. The applicant has paid all applicable fees in this state.

10. The applicant has applied for permanent licensure in this state. In the event the applicant fails to

qualify for a permanent license as determined by the board, the Special Work Permit issued under

the authority of Subsection E of this Section shall be automatically terminated.

D. Upon receipt of an application for pharmacist licensure by an eligible applicant, the board staff shall

mark the application for priority processing and preserve that status until the license is issued, or in the

alternative, the board gives notice of its intent to deny the application and refuse to issue the license.

The board shall notify the applicant of its licensing decision within 30 calendar days after receiving an

E. 1In the event the applicant intends to practice pharmacy before the issuance of the permanent license,

the board may issue a Special Work Permit to the applicant.

1. The Special Work Permit shall expire 120 days after the date of issue and the permit shall not be

renewable.

2. The Special Work Permit shall identify the applicant, and further, shall indicate the authority for

that person to practice pharmacy within the State of Louisiana as well as the dates of issue and

expiration of the credential.

3. No applicant may practice pharmacy prior to the receipt of a Special Work Permit or pharmacist

license, or with an expired Special Work Permit or pharmacist license.

4. The Special Work Permit shall not be eligible for license transfer or reciprocity to any other

jurisdiction.
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5. The provisions of this Section shall not apply to a member of the military who has received, or is

in the process of receiving, a dishonorable discharge from the military. Further, the provisions of

this Section shall not apply to the spouse of a member of the military who has received, or in the

process of receiving, a dishonorable discharge from the military.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:3650 3651.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board'of Pharmacy, LR 39:3075
(November 2013), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR
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Chapter 9. Pharmacy Technicians

§904. Preferential licensing procedures for military-trained applicants and their speuses
dependents
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C.

Definitions

The following terms shall have the meaning ascribed to them in this Subsection:
Dependent —a resident spouse or resident unmarried child under the age of 21 years, a child who is a
student under the age of 24 years and who is financially dependent upon the parent, or a child of any

age who isdisabled and dependent upon the parent.

Jurisdiction — any state or territory of the United States of America.

Military — the armed forces or reserves of the United States, including the Army, Navy, Marine Corps,

Coast Guard, Air Force, and the reserve components thereof, the National Guard of any state, the

Military Reserves of any state, or the naval militia of any state.
Eligibility

The following persons are eligible for the preferential licensing procedures provided by this Section:

1. A member of the military who has been assigned to duty in Louisiana or his dependent.

2. A civilian employee of the United States Department of Defense who has been assigned to duty in

Louisiana or his dependent.

3. A member of the military or civilian employee of the United States Department of Defense or their

dependents who have established this state as their state of legal residence in their military record.

Requirements
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Eligible persons seeking preferential licensing procedures shall demonstrate compliance with the

following requirements:

1.

10.

The applicant holds a current and valid pharmacy technician credential issued by the pharmacy

regulatory authority in another jurisdiction.

The applicant has held the credential in the other jurisdiction for at least one year.

The applicant has satisfied all educational and experiential requirements required by the pharmacy

regulatory authority in the other jurisdiction.

The applicant is held in good standing by the pharmacy regulatory authority in the other

jurisdiction, or in the event such status is not used in that jurisdiction, the applicant holds an

unrestricted license in that jurisdiction.

The applicant does not have a disqualifying criminal record as determined by the board.

The applicant has not had an occupational license revoked by a:board in another jurisdiction due to

negligence or intentional misconduct related to the applicant’s work in the occupation.

The applicant has not surrendered an occupational license due to negligence or intentional

misconduct related to the applicant’s work in the occupation in another jurisdiction.

The applicant does not have a complaint, allegation, or investigation pending before a pharmacy

regulatory authority in another jurisdiction which relates.to unprofessional conduct or an alleged

crime. If the applicant has a complaint, allegation, or investigation pending, the board shall not

issue or deny a pharmacy technician certificate until the complaint, allegation, or investigation is

resolved, or the applicant otherwise satisfies the criteria for a pharmacy technician certificate in

this state'to the satisfaction of the board.

The applicant has paid all applicable fees in this state.

The applicant has applied for a permanent pharmacy technician certificate in this state. In the

event the applicant fails to qualify for a permanent pharmacy technician certificate as determined
by the board, the Special Work Permit issued under the authority of Subsection E of this Section

shall be automatically terminated.

D. Upon receipt of an.application for a pharmacy technician certificate by an eligible applicant, the board

staff shall mark the application for priority processing and preserve that status until the pharmacy

technician certificate is issued, or in the alternative, the board gives notice of its intent to deny the

application and refuse to issue the certificate. The board shall notify the applicant of its licensing

decision within 30 calendar days after receiving an application.

E. In the event the applicant intends to assist in the practice of pharmacy before the issuance of the

permanent pharmacy technician certificate, the board may issue a Special Work Permit to the

applicant.
1. The Special Work Permit shall expire 120 days after the date of issue and the permit shall not be

renewable.
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2.

The Special Work Permit shall identify the applicant, and further, shall indicate the authority for

that person to assist in the practice of pharmacy within the State of Louisiana as well as the dates

of issue and expiration of the credential.

No applicant may assist in the practice of pharmacy prior to the receipt of a Special Work Permit

or pharmacy technician certificate, or with an expired Special Work Permit or pharmacy

technician certificate.

The Special Work Permit shall not be eligible for license transfer or réciprocity to any other
jurisdiction.
The provisions of this Section shall not apply to a member of the military who has received, or is

in the process of receiving, a dishonorable discharge from the military. Further, the provisions of

this Section shall not apply to the spouse of a member of the military who has received, or in the

process of receiving, a dishonorable discharge from the military.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:3650 3651.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 39:3075
(November 2013), amended by the Department of Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR




	Part LIII:  Pharmacists
	Chapter 5.  Pharmacists
	Subchapter A.  Licensure Procedures




