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Regulatory Proposal 2013-C ~ Pharmacy Technician Training Programs Draft #2

Louisiana Administrative Code

Title 46 — Professional and Occupational Standards
Part LII1: Pharmacists
Chapter 9. Pharmacy Technicians

8901. Definitions

A. Asused in this Chapter, the following terms shall have the meaning ascribed to them in this Section:

ACPE - Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education.

CPE - continuing pharmaceutical education, as part of a postgraduate educational program to
enhance professional competence.

CPE unit — a standard of measurement adopted by the ACPE for the purpose of accreditation of
CPE programs. One CPE unit is equivalent to 10 credit hours.

Pharmacy Technician — an individual, certified by the board, who assists in the practice of
pharmacy under the direct and immediate supervision of a Louisiana-licensed pharmacist.

Pharmacy Technician Candidate — an individual not yet certified as a pharmacy technician by the

board who is:

a. anindividual who possesses a valid registration-is-satisfactorily-progressing-in-a

boeard-approved-structured-program;-and is working under the supervision of a
pharmacist preceptor for the purpose of obtaining practical experience for

certification as a pharmacy technician by the board; or
b. anindividual who possesses a valid registration;-has-sueccessfully-completed-a
board-approved-structured-program; and is awaiting examination.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:1212.
HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 30:2485
(November 2004), effective January 1, 2005, amended

8903. Pharmacy Technician Candidates
A. Registration
1. Qualifications
a. All pharmacy technician candidates shall register with the board; failure to do so

may result in disciplinary action by the board.
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b.

The candidate shall be at least 18 years of age, as evidenced by a valid and legible
copy of a birth certificate or other appropriate credential.

The candidate shall be of good moral character and non-impaired.

The candidate shall be a graduate from a high school approved by a state
department of education, or shall possess an equivalent degree of education, as
evidenced by a valid and legible copy of a diploma, transcript, or other appropriate
credential.

Exceptions:

i. A pharmacist or pharmacist intern whose board credential has been denied,
suspended, revoked, or restricted for disciplinary reasons by any board of
pharmacy shall not be a pharmacy technician candidate or pharmacy
technician.

ii. A pharmacist or pharmacist intern whose board credential is lapsed shall
not be a pharmacy technician candidate or pharmacy technician until such

lapsed credential is recalled through non-disciplinary board action.

2. Issuance and Maintenance

a.

Upon receipt of a properly completed application, appropriate fee, proofof
enrollmentina-board-approved-structured-program; and any other documentation
required by the board, the board may issue a Pharmacy Technician Candidate
Registration to the applicant.

The board reserves the right to refuse to issue, recall, or discipline a registration
for cause.

The registration shall expire 18 months after the date of issuance, and it shall not
be renewable.

A pharmacy technician candidate shall notify the board, in writing, no later than 10
days following a change of mailing address. The written notice shall include the
candidate’s name, registration number, and old and new addresses.

A pharmacy technician candidate shall notify the board, in writing, no later than 10
days following a change in eithertraining-program-site-or location(s) of
employment. The written notice shall include the candidate’s name, registration
number, and name, address, and permit numbers for old and new training-pregram

sites-or employers.
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C. Practical Experience

1.

The candidate shall possess a registration prior to earning any practical experience in a
pharmacy.

The candidate’s registration shall be conspicuously displayed in the prescription department.
The candidate shall wear appropriate attire and be properly identified as to name and
candidate status while on duty in the prescription department.

A candidate shall not work in a permitted site that is on probation with the board, or with a
pharmacist who is on probation with the board.

The candidate’s registration shall evidence his authority to earn a minimum of 600 hours of

practical experience in a pharmacy, under the supervision of a pharmacist precepter, in

satisfaction of the requirements for pharmacy technician certification. Oftherequired

A candidate may receive board credit for a maximum of 50 hours per week.
Hours of practical experience earned by a candidate shall expire one year after the expiration

date of the registration.

D. Examination

1.

A board-approved technician examination shall consist of integrated pharmacy subject matter
and any other disciplines the board may deem appropriate in order to permit the candidate to
demonstrate his competency. The candidate shall achieve a passing score, as determined by
the board.
Re-examination
a. Following the first or second unsuccessful attempt of an examination, the
candidate may be permitted to retake that examination.
b. Following the third unsuccessful attempt of an examination, the candidate shall
wait one year after the date of the last examination to retake that examination. If
the candidate fails to wait the prescribed one year period, the board may delay any

future certification until that one year period has elapsed.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:1212.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708
(October 1988), effective January 1, 1989, repromulgated LR 19:1025 (August 1993), amended LR 23:1307
(October 1997), LR 30:2485 (November 2004), effective January 1, 2005, amended

8905. Pharmacy Technician Certificate

A. Qualifications
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1.

An applicant for a pharmacy technician certificate shall be at least 18 years of age, as
evidenced by a valid and legible copy of a birth certificate or other appropriate credential.
An applicant shall be of good moral character and non-impaired.
An applicant shall demonstrate the following educational competencies:
a. shall be a graduate from a high school approved by a state department of
education, or shall possess an equivalent degree of education, as evidenced by a

valid and legible copy of a diploma, transcript, or other appropriate credential; and

c. For those applicants submitting applications on or after January 1, 2016, the

applicant shall demonstrate successful completion of a nationally-accredited and

board-approved pharmacy technician training program, as evidenced by a valid

and legible copy of the appropriate credential from that program.

An applicant shall demonstrate evidence of at least 600 hours of practical experience under
the supervision of a pharmacist precepter, using a form supplied by the board.
An applicant shall demonstrate successful completion of a board-approved technician

examination, as evidenced by a valid and legible copy of the appropriate credential.

B. Issuance and Maintenance

1.

4.

Upon receipt of a properly completed and notarized application, properly executed preceptor
affidavit(s), copies of valid and legible credentials, and the appropriate fee, and following
verification that all requirements have been satisfied, the board may issue a pharmacy
technician certificate to the applicant for the current renewal period.

The board reserves the right to refuse to issue, recall, or discipline a certificate for cause.
The annual renewal shall expire and become null and void on June 30 of each year.

a. The board shall make available, no later than May 1 of each year, an application
for renewal to all pharmacy technicians to the address of record.

b. The completed application, along with the appropriate fee, shall be submitted to
the board by June 30 of each year.

c. A pharmacy technician shall not assist in the practice of pharmacy in Louisiana
with an expired renewal.

d. Anapplication for an expired pharmacy technician renewal, along with the
appropriate fee, shall be submitted to the board’s Reinstatement Committee for
consideration.

A pharmacy technician shall notify the board, in writing, no later than 10 days following a
change of mailing address. The written notice shall include the technician’s name, certificate

number, and old and new addresses.
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5.

A pharmacy technician shall notify the board, in writing, no later than 10 days following a
change in location(s) of employment. The written notice shall include the technician’s name,
certificate number, and name, address, and permit numbers for old and new employers.

Upon written request of any certified pharmacy technician in active military service of the
United States or any of its allies, the board may waive the requirement for the annual renewal

of the certificate, including fees.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:1212.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708
(October 1988), effective January 1, 1989, repromulgated LR 19:1025 (August 1993), LR 30:2486 (November
2004), effective January 1, 2005, amended LR 38:1235 (May 2012), amended

§907. Scope of Practice

A. Pharmacy technician candidates and pharmacy technicians may assist the pharmacist by performing

those duties and functions assigned by the pharmacist while under his direct and immediate

supervision.

1.
2.

The ratio of candidates to pharmacists on duty shall not exceed one to one at any given time.
The ratio of technicians to pharmacists on duty shall not exceed two to one at any given time.
However, the ratio of technicians to pharmacists on duty may be increased to three to one if

no technician candidates are on duty at the same time.

B. Pharmacy technician candidates shall not:

1.
2.
3.

5.

receive verbal initial prescription orders;

give or receive verbal transfers of prescription orders;

interpret prescription orders (however, a technician candidate may translate prescription
orders);

compound high-risk sterile preparations, as defined by the United States Pharmacopeia (USP),
or its successor.

counsel patients.

C. Pharmacy technicians shall not:

1.

release a verbal prescription order for processing until it is reduced to written form and
initialed by the receiving technician and supervising pharmacist;

interpret prescription orders (however, a technician may translate prescription orders);
compound high-risk sterile preparations, as defined by the United States Pharmacopeia (USP),
or its successor;

counsel patients.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:1212.
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 30:2486
(November 2004), effective January 1, 2005, amended LR 32:1049 (June 2006).

§909. Continuing Education

A. A minimum of one technician-specific ACPE or board-approved CPE unit, or 10 credit hours, shall be

required each year as a prerequisite for annual renewal of a pharmacy technician certificate. Such CPE
units shall be credited in the 12-month period prior to the expiration date of the certificate.

B. Certified pharmacy technicians shall maintain copies of their individual records of personal CPE
activities at their primary practice site for at least 2 years, and shall present them when requested by
the board.

C. |If judged appropriate by the board, some or all of the required number of hours may be mandated on
specific subjects. When so deemed, the board shall notify all certified pharmacy technicians prior to
the beginning of the renewal year in which the CPE is required.

D. Complete compliance with CPE rules is a prerequisite for renewal of a pharmacy technician certificate.

1. Non-compliance with the CPE requirements shall be considered a violation of R.S.
37:1241(A)(2) and shall constitute a basis for the board to refuse annual renewal.

2. The failure to maintain an individual record of personal CPE activities, or falsifying CPE
documents, shall be considered a violation of R.S. 37:1241(A)(22).

3. The inability to comply with CPE requirements shall be substantiated by a written
explanation, supported with extraordinary circumstances, and submitted to the board for

consideration.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:1212.

HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708
(October 1988), effective January 1, 1989, amended LR 17:779 (August 1991), repromulgated LR 19:1025 (August
1993), amended LR 23:1308 (October 1997), LR 30:2487 (November 2004), effective January 1, 2005, amended

§911. Impairment

A. Pharmacy technician candidates and pharmacy technicians shall be non-impaired.

B. Pharmacy technician candidates and pharmacy technicians who have knowledge that a pharmacist,
pharmacist intern, pharmacy technician candidate, or pharmacy technician is impaired shall notify the
board of that fact.

C. Pharmacy technician candidates and pharmacy technicians shall be subject to a medical evaluation for
impairment by a board-approved addictionist, as authorized by the Louisiana Pharmacy Practice Act,
R.S. 37:1161 et seq.

AUTHORITY NOTE: Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:1212.
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HISTORICAL NOTE: Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 14:708
(October 1988), effective January 1, 1989, amended LR 17:779 (August 1991), repromulgated LR 19:1025 (August
1993), amended 23:1308 (October 1997), LR 30:2487 (November 2004), effective January 1, 2005.
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