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Louisiana Administrative Code 1 
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Title 46 – Professional and Occupational Standards 3 
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Part LIII: Pharmacists 5 
 6 
Chapter 9.  Pharmacy Technicians 7 
 8 
§905.  Pharmacy Technician Certificate 9 

A. Qualifications 10 
1. An applicant for a pharmacy technician certificate shall be at least 18 years of age, as 11 

evidenced by a valid and legible copy of a birth certificate or other appropriate credential. 12 
2. An applicant shall be of good moral character and non-impaired. 13 
3. An applicant shall demonstrate one of the following educational competencies: 14 

a. In the event the applicant obtained their technician candidate registration on the 15 
basis of their enrollment in a nationally-accredited and board-approved pharmacy 16 
technician training program, the applicant shall demonstrate successful completion 17 
of that training program, or in the alternative, another nationally-accredited and 18 
board-approved pharmacy technician training program. 19 

b. In the event the applicant obtained their technician candidate registration by any 20 
other method, the applicant shall demonstrate the acquisition of at least 600 hours 21 
of practical experience under the supervision of a pharmacist, using a form 22 
supplied by the board. 23 

4. An applicant shall demonstrate successful completion of a board-approved technician 24 
examination, as evidenced by a valid and legible copy of the appropriate credential. 25 

B. Issuance and Maintenance 26 
1. Upon receipt of a properly completed application, copies of valid and legible credentials, the 27 

appropriate fee, and any other documentation required by the board, and following 28 
verification that all requirements have been satisfied, the board may issue a pharmacy 29 
technician certificate to the applicant for the current renewal period. 30 

2. The board reserves the right to refuse to issue, recall, or discipline a certificate for cause. 31 
3. The annual renewal shall expire and become null and void on June 30 of each year. 32 

a. The board shall make available, no later than May 1 of each year, an application 33 
for renewal to all pharmacy technicians to the address of record. 34 

b. The completed application, along with the appropriate fee, shall be submitted to 35 
the board by June 30 of each year. 36 

c. A pharmacy technician shall not assist in the practice of pharmacy in Louisiana 37 
with an expired renewal. 38 

d. An application for an expired pharmacy technician renewal, along with the 39 
appropriate fee, shall be submitted to the board’s Reinstatement Committee for 40 
consideration. 41 

4. A pharmacy technician shall notify the board, in writing, no later than 10 days following a 42 
change of mailing address.  The written notice shall include the technician’s name, certificate 43 
number, and old and new addresses. 44 

5. A pharmacy technician shall notify the board, in writing, no later than 10 days following a 45 
change in location(s) of employment.  The written notice shall include the technician’s name, 46 
certificate number, and name, address, and permit numbers for old and new employers. 47 

6. Upon written request of any certified pharmacy technician in active military service of the 48 
United States or any of its allies, the board may waive the requirement for the annual renewal 49 
of the certificate, including fees. 50 

 51 
AUTHORITY NOTE:  Promulgated in accordance with R.S. 37:1212. 52 
HISTORICAL NOTE:  Promulgated by the Department of Health and Hospitals, Board of Pharmacy, LR 30:2486 53 
(November 2004), effective January 1, 2005, amended LR 38:1235 (May 2012), LR 39:1777 (July 2013), amended 54 
by the Department of Health, Board of Pharmacy, LR 43:2497 (December 2017), effective January 1, 2018. 55 
 56 

http://www.pharmacy.la.gov/assets/docs/Forms/031_PSTCertHrsPTCs_2018-0101-F-S.pdf
http://www.pharmacy.la.gov/index.cfm?md=pagebuilder&tmp=home&pid=43
http://www.pharmacy.la.gov/assets/docs/Forms/090_NoticeAddEmpChange_2019-0801-F.pdf
http://www.pharmacy.la.gov/assets/docs/Forms/090_NoticeAddEmpChange_2019-0801-F.pdf
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